Python Forum
Fraction Calculation with Limitations
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fraction Calculation with Limitations
I am a beginning Python coder and I am trying to write code to convert a FIF dimension (One Sixteen of an Inch Precision) - Feet, Inches, Fraction of Inch to Decimal Inches.

I can convert the Feet to inches with no problem. The Fraction is giving me problems.

The fraction of an inch numerator must be limited to a integer (Whole Number) between 0 and 15. I am not sure how to limit my selection to these sixteen numbers. Can you point me in the right direction.

The fraction of an inch denominator must be a integer (Whole Number) one of four numbers 16,8,4, or 2.

The third criteria I have is the denominator must be greater than the numerator.

Do you know if any code exists that my help me out with this task.

This is only by second try at trying to write Python code.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.
Please show code attempt so far.
I read the problem description you provided and didn't understand. Maybe you should spend some time to describe you objective more precisely and concisely? And of course provide your efforts to achieve the objective and problem encountered.
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
(Dec-05-2020, 03:40 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: Please show code attempt so far.
This is the code attempt I have used so far. I don't know how to have the user select the numerator from the list of 0 to 15 I have created. Also I don't know how to generate a list of numbers starting from 2 where the next number is 2 times the previous number - 2,4,8, ending in 16. I then need to select from this list for the denominator.