Python Forum
Adanced Image Analysis with Python for reflecting surfaces
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Adanced Image Analysis with Python for reflecting surfaces
Hello Everyone
My name is Andrea, a computer engineer graduated many years ago with major in automation. After 5 years as automation software coder I acted as production planning manager for 8 years. Last year I returned to a tech-related job as member of engineering team where I work on innovative projects.
So, I'm quite new to Python having used it only for a few rather simple data science projects of regression/classification/clustering.
I need your help to understand the feasibility of a new project.

It's about gold ingots: the goal is to identify various kind of tamper actions or fakes by comparing high res pictures of the products before they leave the factory and afterwards (in this case the picture is provided by some sort of app designed for final users in the market).
The key identification elements are dies and serial numbers and ingots are of two kinds: casted bars and minted bars. Here are a couple of examples of another company (I cannot name the company which is asking for this project)
[Image: eFPNfWT66EZihaJd8]
[Image: bjjqjonwAvWeYZcD6]

About bars counterfeit actions:
1) big gold bars (100g+) are sometimes bored/milled to extract gold and then the extracted material is replaced by tungsten (similar density) and hole surface is closed with melted gold. Sometimes is not so evident to immediately identify the tamper action but most times it is. In any case by close visual (human eye) inspection, it can be understood.
2) casted or minted bars of any size are sometimes completely "rebuilt" with material mixture of lower purity and same weight, then logo die is pressed upon again (die is "cloned" by fakers) and finally the same serial is stamped. Many times is very hard to tell by visual inspection if bar is a fake or authentic in this case.

Key features of casted bars: