Python Forum
how to make a hotkey for text adventure game
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
how to make a hotkey for text adventure game
So I'm trying to make this sort of "map" key for the player to press to change their location. But I don't want to manually put in the code for every outcome I put in. I was wondering for any advice In how to make a hotkey.

NOTE: I'm a beginner just learning python so yeah I don't know much.
Is it safe to assume you are using python's native "input()" function? If you post your code it will be easier to find a solution. The basic idea would be to write some kind of mapping function that runs if input is ever a certain character. You won't have to code for every outcome, you code how the computer decides the result of the function.
name = input("Hello, Welcome to Quest Sim! Please enter your name!")
print('hello' + name)
instructions = input('Before we begin, I reccomend reading the instructions to understand how this game works press I. if you know how to play the game, press N')
if instructions == 'I':
instructions = input('Quest Sim is a word based game. that means you have to give commands when you start the game,'
'everytime their is a "" around certain words. it means its a interable command you can use.'
'just type the command to use the action. Press "Y" to return')
elif instructions == "Y" or instructions == "N":
input("The world depends on you to find the three keys to seal the darkness! to start your quest please press M")

M = str(['Beach, Mines, Town, Mansion, Home'])
x = input(m + "Select a location!")
computer = randint(0,1)
player = 3
siren = 1
if x == 'Beach':
choice1 = input("Welcome to the Beach, here lies a vast ocean fulled of critters, big and small."
'On your "Right" lies a pus fulled trail full of dead seagulls alongside the coast.'
'On your "Left" you find a injured person gasping for breath.'
'Or we can return to map to view other locations. What do you do?.')
if choice1.lower() == 'Right':