Python Forum
Making a colour field
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Making a colour field
Hi, I was making a pixel editor in python using pygame. So, I was checking sites to how to do specific things before starting and I did not find a way to make a colour field using pygame or any other libs I can use with pygame (Not sure with GUI libs). I could just stick with a simple RGB slider, but that is very annoying to use and not very intuitive to use. Alpha value would also be useful (RGBA). I am like using a colour field, but a colour field would also be fine.I would really need some help with this as I am not an expert. If you are cunfused what a "colour field" is, here is a photo(Because I was),

colour field:
https://www.google.com/search?q=RGBA+col...B_DG1lnt2M

colour wheel:
https://www.google.com/search?q=RGBA+col...9kLsFH4D-M
This code originally ran in python2 but it still works. Get a picture of the color field of your choice and name it img.bmp (converting to bmp of course) or change the line :
image = pygame.image.loadi ("./img.bmp")
to whatever the name of your image is. Put it in the same folder with this and run the code. It will print out the RGBA (RGB plus Alpha) of the pixel that you clicked on. Hope this helps.

import sys, pygame
pygame.init ()
size = width, height = 320, 240
screen = pygame.display.set_modei (size)
image = pygame.image.load ("./img.bmp")
image_rect = image.get_rect()

screen.fill ((0,0,0))
screen.blit (image, image_rect)
screensurf = pygame.display.get_surface ()

looking_for_color = True
while looking_for_color:
	for event in pygame.event.get ():
		if event.type == pygame.QUIT :
			looking_for_color = False
		if event.type == pygame.MOUSEBUTTONDOWN :
			mouse = pygame.mouse.get_pos()
			pxarray = pygame.PixelArray(screensurf)
			pixel = pygame.Color(pxarray[mouse[0],mouse[1]])
			print (pixel)
			print (screensurf.get_at(mouse))
	pygame.display.flip()