Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
while sentence
hi! I'm a beginner and I found here to help or solving my problems. could you please tell me what's wrong with WHILE code?

import random
hads= random.randint(1,99)
print (hads)

ans=str(input('if Javab is higher please enter k and  it is lower please enter b and if it's equal enter d'))
print (ans)

while ans != 'd':
        if ans==k:
           hads=random.randint(1,hads)

else:
            hads=random.randint(hads,99)
            print (hads)

print= ("yes it's true")
nilamo write Mar-19-2021, 09:53 PM:
Python tags are important to preserve indentation. I've added them for you, but please include them going forward.
Can't say for sure. You need to wrap code in Python tags or the indentation is lost. You should also describe what the code is supposed to do. This can be difficult for others to infer if all they have is the code which is not doing what it is supposed to do.

The way your code is written the loop is going to not execute at all or execute forever. Lets say the user types 'd'.
while 'd' != 'd':
    if ans==k:
        hads=random.randint(1,hads)
    else:
        hads=random.randint(hads,99)
print (hads)
'd' != 'd' is False, so the loop does not run at all and the print(hads) statement executes immediately.

If the user enters 'k', k != 'd' is True, so the loop continues to execute forever. The print statement is never reached.

What is this code supposed to do?
supuflounder likes this post
Welcome to the forums :)

The syntax highlighting should make it clear, but line 5 is a syntax error. There's a single quote in the middle of the string that ends the string prematurely. Either wrap the string in double quotes, or in triple quotes:
#currently
ans=str(input('if Javab is higher please enter k and  it is lower please enter b and if it's equal enter d'))

# double quotes
ans=str(input("if Javab is higher please enter k and  it is lower please enter b and if it's equal enter d"))