Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fibonacci
Hi Guys,

I am a Python beginner and trying to write a code for Fibonacci sequence.
I wrote the following code and got a following result: [1, 1, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89]
I was expecting "2" to be included between second and third number...
Can anyone explain what is wrong with this code?
Thank you!
Yasunaga

def Fibo(n):
    a,b=1,1
    if n==0:
        return a
    elif n==1:
        return b
    else:
        for x in range (n):
            a,b = b, a+b
        return b
Fibonacci=list([Fibo(n) for n in range(0,10)])
print(Fibonacci)
Yoriz write May-15-2021, 11:28 AM:
Please post all code, output and errors (in their entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
a,b=1,1 has a wrong initial value.
The final return is returning the wrong thing.
Also it dos not help to change initial values,when return return b change to return a.
(May-15-2021, 11:51 AM)Yoriz Wrote: a,b=1,1 has a wrong initial value.
The final return is returning the wrong thing.

Hi Joriz,

thank you for your reply. Fibonacci can take any initial values. It just returns a third value adding first and second value. What I do not understand is
1. why third value is 3 as opposed to 2 (1+1)
2. why fourth value is 5? Why is it not an addition of 1 and 3 (previous two numbers)?
Think about your logic as well. Your method of creating the list calculates the entire list up to n each time through the loop. So, to get a list of 10 values you generate the list to 3, list to 4, list to 5, etc. Not explaining this well, but if you put a
print('in loop')
after line 9 you will see what I mean. An efficient algorithm would only do this 8 times (excludes the first 2 entries).
Oh, and have that print statement indented to the level of line 9