Python Forum
Why does Python not use parenthesis to contain loops?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why does Python not use parenthesis to contain loops?
I'm following along with the MIT online course. I am a very elementary programmer, but I have some really basic knowledge of c++ and c#. Then I have a little more in depth knowledge of Powershell. I've been writing scripts in Powershell for about a year now. But, with any loop, typically you do something like this...

for (i=0; i<5; i++) {
do this first
do this second
do this third
}

But, I put in curley braces to contain the loop. Curley braces or parenthesis don't seem to work at all in Python. I tried adding them to a loop and I got an error. How does it know where the loop ends and the next code not part of the loop starts? Is it done purely on indentation?
Because it's not C
Yes the indentation is important in python, that's how it knows where the looped code ends.
for number in range(2):
    print(f'{number}: do this first')
    print(f'{number}: do this second')
    print(f'{number}: do this third')
print('do this last')
Output:
0: do this first 0: do this second 0: do this third 1: do this first 1: do this second 1: do this third do this last
https://docs.python.org/3/faq/design.htm...statements Wrote:Why does Python use indentation for grouping of statements?

Guido van Rossum believes that using indentation for grouping is extremely elegant and contributes a lot to the clarity of the average Python program. Most people learn to love this feature after a while.

Since there are no begin/end brackets there cannot be a disagreement between grouping perceived by the parser and the human reader. Occasionally C programmers will encounter a fragment of code like this:
if (x <= y)
        x++;
        y--;
z++;