Python Forum
Problem Using SQL Placeholder In MySQL Query
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Problem Using SQL Placeholder In MySQL Query
Hi all, I'm very new to Python (7 days and counting) and seem to be having problems with passing in variables into my SELECT query.

The intention is to use the value selected from a combo box as the condition in the WHERE clause.

Please note that I'm using VS Code 1.5.8.2, MySQL 8.0.20, Python3

I have tried the ? method and it didn't work, I then tried the %s but nothing was returned. Below is the snippet
in question (sincere apologies for the dire quality of my coding):

#note that mycmb holds the value selected from the combo box

sql = "SELECT * FROM tbl_colours WHERE pc_name = %s"
mycmb = (cmb1.get(), )

mycursor = mydb.cursor();
mycursor.execute(sql, mycmb)
myresult = mycursor.fetchall();

I don't have a clue what the problem is and have tried all solutions found on the web.
Any help would be appreciated.
What have you done to debug the problem? For example:

- Are you sure you're reading the value from the box correctly?
- Does the query work if you hardcode a value?
- Is the table name correct?
- Are there actually rows that match what you're selecting on?
Hi ndc85430 many thanks for replying. In response to your questions:
  • Yes: the query works when hardcoded
    Yes: the table name is correct
    Yes: I test the retrieval of the combo box value using cmb1.get() in another file
One last thing; the combo box is populated by a query on a table that is related to the tbl_colours table
This query works great for me, try it with your query.

cur = conn.cursor()

# Select query 
cur.execute(f"SELECT studentnr, score FROM allstudentsAnswers{clas} WHERE weeknr = '{weeknr}'") 
output = cur.fetchall() 
Print your mycmb to make sure it is what it should be. Looks funny to me, but I have no experience using comboboxes

Try your select query directly in MySQL with a specific value for pc_name, like pc_name = 'Lenovo' .