Python Forum
Index error - columns vs non-column
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Index error - columns vs non-column
Dear users,

I am getting an IndexError, and not sure why? The code (below) works perfectly when I run it using data.cvs. On that type of file, the index is a column (named Date).

But, if I run the code directly from an input library (e.i., df = yf.download(tickers=ticker, start=start, end=end), I receive the trackback message's below. In this example, the date is not considered a column. So, I think the error comes from that; however, I don't know how to fix it.

I hope I am being clear. It is my first post, and I am a beginner.

Thank you

This is my Code:
df_close_adj = pd.DataFrame(data=df[["Close", "Adj_Close"]].to_numpy(), index=df["Date"], columns=[["Close", "Adj_Close"]])
The Traceback I get is this:

Error:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- KeyError Traceback (most recent call last) /usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/pandas/core/indexes/base.py in get_loc(self, key, method, tolerance) 2897 try: -> 2898 return self._engine.get_loc(casted_key) 2899 except KeyError as err: pandas/_libs/index.pyx in pandas._libs.index.IndexEngine.get_loc() pandas/_libs/index.pyx in pandas._libs.index.IndexEngine.get_loc() pandas/_libs/hashtable_class_helper.pxi in pandas._libs.hashtable.PyObjectHashTable.get_item() pandas/_libs/hashtable_class_helper.pxi in pandas._libs.hashtable.PyObjectHashTable.get_item() KeyError: 'Date' The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception: KeyError Traceback (most recent call last) 2 frames /usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/pandas/core/indexes/base.py in get_loc(self, key, method, tolerance) 2898 return self._engine.get_loc(casted_key) 2899 except KeyError as err: -> 2900 raise KeyError(key) from err 2901 2902 if tolerance is not None: KeyError: 'Date'
Hello,