Python Forum
ABC Module and @property decorator, Pythonic Way?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ABC Module and @property decorator, Pythonic Way?
Greetings,

I just started learning Python about 3 months ago. I wanted to know what the consensus is when using the
@property
method and the module

from abc import ABC, abstractmethod
# abc is a builtin module, we have to import ABC and abstractmethod

class Animal(ABC): # Inherit from ABC(Abstract base class)
    @abstractmethod  # Decorator to define an abstract method
    def feed(self):
        pass
Someone pointed out to me that the
@property
decorator has a lot going on under the hood. But, if it serves the purpose of getting the value of a property, why not use it?

The same with the ABC module.

I have developed in other languages and you can use set(var) and get(var) on any property in a class. These methods are inherited right from object.

Can someone shed some light on why these should or should not be used? Do these coding standards follow the "Pythonic" way? I am not being facetious.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.
I think the "Pythonic" way to get and set attributes is to use "value = instance.attribute" and "instance.attribute = value". There is no protection for attributes (no private or protected), so you may as well admit this and make shorter code.

I think properties come into play when you want getting or setting an attribute to not only get or set the value, but also execute code associated with getting or setting the attribute value. I write a lot of signal processing code. I have noisy inputs and I want to filter out any content above a certain frequency. My Python class for doing the filtering has a "frequency" attribute, but my filter code does not use this value. When the "frequency" attribute is set I want my code to use the "frequency" value and the sample rate value and additional information to compute coefficients for my IIR or FIR filter.
@property
def frequency(self):