Posts: 138
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2020
Greetings,
I use VS Code for Python and other languages. However, I cannot find a good source formatter extension for Python. I've tried black, autopep8 and they work ok but they do not fix tab indentation errors.
Does anyone know if there are ways to configure these extension, mainly; autopep8?
Thanks,
Matt
Posts: 2,121
Threads: 10
Joined: May 2017
Sep-06-2021, 02:56 PM
(This post was last modified: Sep-06-2021, 02:57 PM by DeaD_EyE.)
Just don't use tabs: https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0008...-or-spaces
If you use tabs, you've to use them everywhere. Mixing tabs and whitespace ends in a IndentationError which means also, that these tools could not parse the code.
It's not the fault of black or autopep8.
Posts: 138
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2020
I know, and get that. However, if something is slightly indented and gives me an error; I was hoping one of these extensions would fix the indentation error.
How many spaces do you use?
(Sep-06-2021, 02:56 PM)DeaD_EyE Wrote: Just don't use tabs: https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0008...-or-spaces
If you use tabs, you've to use them everywhere. Mixing tabs and whitespace ends in a IndentationError which means also, that these tools could not parse the code.
It's not the fault of black or autopep8.
Posts: 7,312
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Sep-06-2021, 04:22 PM
(This post was last modified: Sep-06-2021, 04:22 PM by snippsat.)
(Sep-06-2021, 02:59 PM)muzikman Wrote: I know, and get that. However, if something is slightly indented and gives me an error; I was hoping one of these extensions would fix the indentation error.
How many spaces do you use? Yes it will fix indentation and other stuff,setting is in python.formatting.provider
I have set it to black.
Also talk about here in my tutorial.
Posts: 138
Threads: 26
Joined: Nov 2020
Sep-06-2021, 05:11 PM
(This post was last modified: Sep-06-2021, 05:11 PM by muzikman.)
(Sep-06-2021, 04:22 PM)snippsat Wrote: (Sep-06-2021, 02:59 PM)muzikman Wrote: I know, and get that. However, if something is slightly indented and gives me an error; I was hoping one of these extensions would fix the indentation error.
How many spaces do you use? Yes it will fix indentation and other stuff,setting is in python.formatting.provider
I have set it to black.
Also talk about here in my tutorial.
I have that set as black in my settings. It will format the long dictionaries, etc. But it's not fixing the indents as it did in your example.
And, every time I paste some code, black says, "Cannot be used with the format selection command"
I checked over the tutorial and made sure I had all of the packages installed for my conda environment.
Is there a config for black?
Posts: 7,312
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
(Sep-06-2021, 05:11 PM)muzikman Wrote: black says, "Cannot be used with the format selection command" I have not gotten that message.
Look like can just turn it off.
Posts: 2,121
Threads: 10
Joined: May 2017
(Sep-06-2021, 02:59 PM)muzikman Wrote: How many spaces do you use?
I use 0 spaces.
My IDE (PyCharm) indents by 4 Spaces (PEP8) if I press the tabulator key.
Just use an IDE. PyCharm has also a 3rd party Plugin called BlackConnect.
This requires a running black[d] instance.
|