Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Encoding Error
Hi Good People,

How many times do I get to say I'm new to Python, man much to learn: I consistently am getting the following error:

Error:
'latin-1' codec can't encode character '\u2019' in position 281: ordinal not in range(256)
I've tried adding the following to no avail. Any help would be appreciated,

connection.setdecoding(pyodbc.SQL_CHAR, encoding='utf-8')
connection.setdecoding(pyodbc.SQL_WCHAR, encoding='utf-8')
connection.setencoding(encoding='utf-8')
Here's my code:

import pandas as pd
import pyodbc
import xport.v56

# Trusted Connection to Named Instance
try:
    connection = pyodbc.connect('DRIVER={SQL Server};SERVER=MyServer\MS_SQLEXPRESS;DATABASE=CheckData;Trusted_Connection=yes;')
except Exception as err:
    print('Exception occured while trying to create a connection ', err)
else:
    try:

sql_query = pd.read_sql_query('''EXEC sp_Rtest''', connection) 
        # here, the 'connection' is the variable that contains your database connection information from step 2

df = pd.DataFrame(sql_query)
        ds = xport.Dataset(df, name='DATA', label='Wonderful data')

ds = ds.rename(columns={k: k.upper()[:8] for k in ds})

# Other SAS metadata can be set on the columns themselves.
        for k, v in ds.items():
            v.label = k.title()

if v.dtype == 'object':
                v.format = '$CHAR20.'
            else:
                v.format = '10.2'

# Libraries can have multiple datasets.
        library = xport.Library({'DATA': ds})

with open('c:/users/cneal/exasssmple.xpt', 'wb') as f:
            xport.v56.dump(library, f)

except Exception as err:
       print('Exception occured while fethcing records ', err)
    else:
        print('')
    finally:
      print('')
finally:
    connection.close()
  • Which version of Python are you using? Use only Python 3.
  • Please post the entire error traceback so that we can see exactly which part of the code throws the error.