Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Error 'Contour' not Defined
Hi - I'm new to Python and are working with debugging a script that was developed for Python 2.7.

This is my error:
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "init_collapse.py", line 115, in <module> cs=contour(kxx,kyy,-kelevation,[collapse_depth]) NameError: name 'contour' is not defined
I just wonder if 'contour' is a module I should have available. These are the modules the script calls for:
 from scipy import *
#from pylab import *
from numpy import *
import sys
from degrees2utm import *
from copy import deepcopy
from matplotlib.patches import PathPatch
Has it something to do with 'matplotlib.patches import PathPatch' because this is the only module I could not find to load?

Kind Regards
Dave
Yoriz write Mar-12-2022, 11:49 PM:
Please post all code, output and errors (in their entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
This is one of the many problems with wildcard imports. You have no idea where to look for contour. But if I had to guess I would say it is in pylab. A quick google search of pylab and contour brings up examples of how to use countour() and even a demo!
Hi Deanhystad

Oh, because I'm real new to it. Is the problem that my Python 2.7 is not recognizing the contour function. How do I get it to do so"
I think contour is in the pylab module. You are not importing the pylab module. The line that imports the pylab module is commented out.