Python Forum
file icons have Firefox icon
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
file icons have Firefox icon
Hi All
I'm new to Python. Have been trying to save files from Python to my desktop and when I save them they are saved as a Firefox browser window. I type .py as the file extension but it still keeps saving as a Firefox file. When I open the file it looks like when you right click on a webpage and select view page source.
It's the same when I download python files they only download as a Firefox icon. Can't save or download Python files so they have the little Python icon on them. Thank you for any suggestions.
What os?
(Mar-31-2022, 10:44 PM)deanhystad Wrote: What os?

Windows
(Mar-31-2022, 08:59 PM)Ricvourn Wrote: Hi All
I'm new to Python. Have been trying to save files from Python to my desktop and when I save them they are saved as a Firefox browser window. I type .py as the file extension but it still keeps saving as a Firefox file. When I open the file it looks like when you right click on a webpage and select view page source.
It's the same when I download python files they only download as a Firefox icon. Can't save or download Python files so they have the little Python icon on them. Thank you for any suggestions.

It sounds like you are using a Web-based Python development system. This means the "File" menu you see in the browser means "Save this Web page as a Web page". It does not mean "save this program as a file". So what happens is that either the development environment has a menu item to save the file on your machine, or it is saving it for you in the cloud, which is managed for you by the developers of that environment. You did not say how you are creating your Python programs, and that matters a lot.

Some of these cloud-based environments have a "download" option that lets you retrieve that file contents, some don't.