Python Forum
[Tkinter] scheduling and timining issues using mqtt and tkinter
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Tkinter] scheduling and timining issues using mqtt and tkinter
Please be patient with me as I am a newbie inpython and I really need your help. I have a custom GUI created in tkinter using Python3.7 on Raspbian (fork of Debian-Linux for Raspberri Pi). the code is meant to receive MQTT messages (two temp value and on humidity value) from an ESP32 device every 2 seconds, update the widgets in the GUI and send the values to mydevices (an IoT platform).

import subprocess  
import cayenne.client  
import socket  
from tkinter import *  
from tkinter import messagebox  
import tkinter  
import serial  
import struct  
import datetime  
import gaugelib  
import codecs  
import paho.mqtt.client as mqtt #import the client1  
import json  
import logging  
import mqtthandler  
import ast  
from tkinter import ttk  
import threading  
from threading import Thread  
import tkinter as tk  
def monitor():  
    global x  
    client.loop()  
    mqtt_client.loop_start()  
    room_temp1 = read_external_temp_hum()[2]  ## Value sent from ESP is forwarded to mydevices  
    room_temp2 = read_external_temp_hum()[0]    ## Value sent from ESP is forwarded to mydevices  
    room_humidity = read_external_temp_hum()[1] ## Value sent from ESP is forwarded to mydevices  
    conc= read_CO2()  
    mqtt_client.loop_start()   
    client.loop()  
    check_wifi_connection()  
    check_cable_connection()  
    p1.set_value(int(room_temp1))   
    p2.set_value(int(room_humidity))  
    p3.set_value(int(conc))  
    p4.set_value(int(room_temp2))  
    print(room_temp1)  
    print(room_temp2)  
    print(room_humidity)        
    x=x+1  
    if x>100:  
        x=0   
    root.after(10000, monitor)  
#def run_client():  
#    threading.Timer(1.0, run_client).start()  
#    client.loop()  
#def run_mqtt_client():  
#    threading.Timer(0.1, run_client).start()