Python Forum
Replace lines from one .txt file to another
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Replace lines from one .txt file to another
I am a beginner to do any coding, but still i'll try to do something..  Smile

My problem:

i need copy some lines Start.txt to end.txt, only what i know is line numbers, marks/numbers inside the line doest not same all the time, line numbers are. So i cant use .replace method?

Example

Start.txt
       4444444444  <------ This line
       5555555555  <------ And this line
End.txt
       AAAAAAAAA
       BBBBBBBBB
                 <----- to here
                 <----- to here
i was find some enumerate example before, and try to adjust it, but too hard from beginner.
Something like this what i find:

with open('start.txt') as fin, open('end.txt', 'w') as fout:
           for i, item in enumerate(fin, 1):
               if i == 7: 
                   item = "string\n" 
               fout.write(item)
This code add only "string" word to line which number i gave...

Thanks!
If you want to take some line in file1 and write them at the end of file2, it is more like:

linesToCopy=[4,5]
with open('file1.txt') as f1, open('file2.txt', 'a') as f2: # Note "append mode" for target file
    for i, line in enumerate(f1, 1):
        if i in linesToCopy: 
            f2.write(line)
Unless noted otherwise, code in my posts should be understood as "coding suggestions", and its use may require more neurones than the two necessary for Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.
Your one-stop place for all your GIMP needs: gimp-forum.net
(Jun-21-2017, 10:45 PM)Ofnuts Wrote: If you want to take some line in file1 and write them at the end of file2, it is more like:

Yes i want write them file2, but not the end always, some times need write it line 3 or line 10 etc... How i can adjust this which(number) line i'll write?