Python Forum
Help with basic weight converter
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with basic weight converter
Ok so I'm brand new to coding and following a YouTube video for learning python, one of the exercises is to make a simple weight conversion program. I thought I understood it but I'm at a complete loss. The user enters their weight, then it asks if that was in kgs. or lbs. if the user enters a k (higher or lower case) then it will convert to lbs and vice versa. Now the problem I'm having is that the script runs but only outputs the first if statement. I have no idea why. This is my code

weight = float(input("Enter your weight "))
unit = input(" Is that (K)Kgs or (L)lbs ")
conversion = 0.45
if unit == "K" or "k":
    convertlbs = (float)(weight * conversion)
    print (convertlbs)
elif unit == "L" or "l":
    convertkgs = (float)(weight / conversion)
    print (convertkgs)
else:
    print ("wrong input")
Could someone please explain why this is not working? From what I understand the first if statement is checking to see if the user input for unit is equal to K or k, if it is then it should times their weight by 0.45, if its not true then it should move onto the next if statement to see if its an L or l, then dividing my 0.45. If neither of these inputs are true then it should print wrong input

Non-empty strings, e.g. "k" on line 4 evaluate to True, so your or expression is wrong. The right hand side needs to check unit == "k".
(Jun-29-2022, 02:16 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: Non-empty strings, e.g. "k" on line 4 evaluate to True, so your or expression is wrong. The right hand side needs to check unit == "k".

I can't believe it was that simple! makes perfect sense now that I can see it. I've been pulling my hair out for about an hour with this
"or" is a logical operator. You are trying to use it more like a union.