Python Forum
Noob here. Random quiz program. Using a while loop function and alot of conditionals.
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Noob here. Random quiz program. Using a while loop function and alot of conditionals.
I just started learning how to code last week and tried making a random quiz program for one of my first projects and it's not working as intended. I assume the answer is simple, since I'm new and probably missing something super obvious.

A little embarrassing, but I've been trying to figure this out for 3 days! haha
The code at the moment isn't adding the score, nor is it giving the user the correct answer if answered wrong. Please help.

import random

def proper_answer():
    while True:
        answer = int(input("> "))
        if answer == 1 or answer == 2 or answer == 3:
            break
        else:
            print("Please enter a number from the answers available")

print("Welcome to the Great Quiz Show Extravaganza!")
print("You will be given 5 random questions to answer. Are you ready?")

question_list = range(11)
question_batch = random.sample(question_list, k=5)
score = 0
answer = 0

for question in question_batch:
    if question == 1:
        print("In what year was the first-ever Wimbledon Championship held?\n1. 1877 \n2. 1888 \n3. 1890")  # answer 1
        proper_answer()
        if answer == 2 or answer == 3:
            print("I'm sorry, that's incorrect. The answer was 1877.")
        elif answer == 1:
            print("Good job. That's correct.")
            score += 1
        answer = 0
    if question == 2:
        print("Hg is the chemical symbol of which element?\n1. Cobalt \n2. Mercury \n3. Lithium")  # answer 2
        proper_answer()
        if answer == 1 or answer == 3:
            print("I'm sorry, that's incorrect. The answer was mercury.")
        elif answer == 2:
            score += 1
        answer = 0
    if question == 3: