Python Forum
Why is IDLE not opening on a MacOS Montery 12.6 and using Python 3.10.7?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Why is IDLE not opening on a MacOS Montery 12.6 and using Python 3.10.7?
#1
Greetings,

I have MacOS Montery 12.6 (latest). I have downloaded Python 3.10.7 (latest) for mac. Everything installed as expected however when I click on the IDLE app, it does not bring up the IDLE shell. I have attempted to give full permssion to the Python app including privacy document permissions but when I enter the system preferences--privacy and security--I do not see python or related application icons anywhere to allow it to give permissions. What am I doing wrong?
Reply
#2
This link may help you (I'm not a Mac user).

How to Install Python on macOS
Sig:
>>> import this

The UNIX philosophy: "Do one thing, and do it well."

"The danger of computers becoming like humans is not as great as the danger of humans becoming like computers." :~ Konrad Zuse

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." :~ Albert Einstein
Reply
#3
(Oct-08-2022, 06:45 PM)rob101 Wrote: This link may help you (I'm not a Mac user).

How to Install Python on macOS

Thanks however, i've already installed Python 3.10.7. it is verified when in terminal typed in python3 --version. and yet the IDLE shell does not open and this is the issue at hand. I have installed Python sucessfully on Windows 11 and the IDLE shell does work just fine but not on the MacOS Montery.
Reply
#4
Fair enough. I thought that there must be an issue with the install, as IDLE comes packaged with Python.

So, what happens when you enter idle at a command prompt?
Sig:
>>> import this

The UNIX philosophy: "Do one thing, and do it well."

"The danger of computers becoming like humans is not as great as the danger of humans becoming like computers." :~ Konrad Zuse

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." :~ Albert Einstein
Reply
#5
(Oct-08-2022, 08:18 PM)rob101 Wrote: Fair enough. I thought that there must be an issue with the install, as IDLE comes packaged with Python.

So, what happens when you enter idle at a command prompt?

once i click it does nothing as if i never clicked it, strange. now as for the python launcher itself i'll click that and the same with will happen, nothing. however the system has loaded it up i can tell from the tab (on the top of the screen) there will be options there for the python launcher. but not the same situation for the IDLE shell.

but as for the command prompt (terminal app) when i type in idlelib.idle it returns an error saying idlib is not defined. so maybe im using wrong syntax
Reply
#6
What I mean is (I'm sorry but I don't know the Apple terminology), if you open what I, as a Linux user, would call a 'terminal window' and I see :~$ I can enter any command, such as idle, or python3 or anything that bash run, how do you do that, on a Mac, and what happens if you enter idle?
Sig:
>>> import this

The UNIX philosophy: "Do one thing, and do it well."

"The danger of computers becoming like humans is not as great as the danger of humans becoming like computers." :~ Konrad Zuse

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." :~ Albert Einstein
Reply
#7
(Oct-08-2022, 08:28 PM)rob101 Wrote: What I mean is (I'm sorry but I don't know the Apple terminology), if you open what I, as a Linux user, would call a 'terminal window' and I see :~$ I can enter any command, such as idle, or python3 or anything that bash run, how do you do that, on a Mac, and what happens if you enter idle?

it says idle not defined
Reply
#8
(Oct-08-2022, 08:28 PM)rob101 Wrote: What I mean is (I'm sorry but I don't know the Apple terminology), if you open what I, as a Linux user, would call a 'terminal window' and I see :~$ I can enter any command, such as idle, or python3 or anything that bash run, how do you do that, on a Mac, and what happens if you enter idle?

ok LOL i got it running from the command prompt actually. i had to type in idle3 instead of idle from the command prompt. lol. but now the question is why wouldn't it run from the gui
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Python Idle won't start totalmachine 9 1,034 Oct-16-2022, 05:57 PM
Last Post: totalmachine
  Opening CMD from Python Oshadha 2 622 Jul-17-2022, 11:22 PM
Last Post: Skaperen
Lightbulb MacOS can't make it Archi 1 604 May-29-2022, 07:38 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
Question Opening small size browser with python selenium not work, need help greenpine 0 865 Feb-07-2022, 11:36 AM
Last Post: greenpine
  MAC Python IDLE issue shadow12 4 1,570 Oct-29-2021, 12:22 AM
Last Post: shadow12
  Python MYSQL connection does not work after 1h idle zazas321 9 3,709 Oct-07-2021, 12:02 PM
Last Post: ndc85430
  Text widget -macOS apffal 1 1,176 Sep-23-2021, 10:12 PM
Last Post: apffal
  python keeps opening script directory Tyrel 5 2,044 Aug-06-2021, 10:43 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Installing Python3 on MacOS using brew zazas321 5 3,638 May-28-2021, 06:19 AM
Last Post: perfringo
  Python OpenCV window not opening in fullscreen mode Zman350x 0 2,291 Apr-29-2021, 07:54 PM
Last Post: Zman350x

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020