Python Forum
Script File Failure-Path Error?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Script File Failure-Path Error?
I am new to Python and this forum (but not general programming) and looking for help in understanding how Python Interpreter interacts with PATH and PYTHONPATH environment variables in Windows 11 64bit environment.

I have successfuly installed python 3.11 in Windows 11 and created a a simple "hello_world.py" script file in a sub-folder under the main python installtion folder.

The script file runs correctly within IDLE and the CMD prompt as hello_world.py but am getting execution failures under other execution modes caused by durectory/file errors. See attached file for details.

The problem is my lack of a clear understanding of how python interacts with the Windows envionment (especially path variables) and searching other online sources and documentation has not resolved the problem.

Any guidance or pointers to definitive resources rekated to python and the Windows environment gratefully received.

Apologies for any forum rules I have inadvertently breached

Thank you - Jerry

.docx   Script File Failure & Python Path Error.docx (Size: 13.45 KB / Downloads: 118)
Larz60+ write Nov-27-2022, 04:11 PM:
Please post all code, output and errors (it it's entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
Your enviroment path variables look ok.
Open cmd and do this.
C:\>python -V
Python 3.10.5

C:\>pip -V
pip 22.3 from C:\python310\lib\site-packages\pip (python 3.10)
C:\>
For your this should work and point to Python 3.11.

The problem is that you most run it with whole file name include .py file extensions.
So like this.
C:\Users\jerry>python hello_world.py