Python Forum
Why is this import running twice?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why is this import running twice?
I'm new to python and am trying to migrate my flask app to a package structure.

I have run.py sitting in a directory alongside a /myproject directory.:
from myproject import app

if __name__ == '__main__':
    app.run()
When I run python run.py, the debugger confirms that the import runs first on line 1 from myproject import app (as I would expect), and then again when app.run() is executed (as I would not expect). This is a problem because one of the imported modules declares a global object that is only allowed to be instantiated once..

/myproject contains the modules along with an __init__.py, which imports routes.py:

from flask import Flask
app = Flask(__name__)
from myproject import routes
I apologize if this should be obvious, but why is the import happening twice, and can it be prevented?
How does this work?
from flask import Flask
app = Flask(__name__)
routes needs to know about app, but app is only defined in myproject. routes cannot import myproject because that is a circular import. Could you post your routes.py file?
Hi Dean, thanks for your reply!

Here's what routes.py looks like:
import os, subprocess
from flask import render_template, request, redirect, url_for, jsonify
from myproject import app, db
from myproject.models import Session, Utterance
from myproject.mymodule import myfunction  #this module contains a global that can only be instantiated once
Note that my previous post abbreviated __init__.py for clarity. The entire script also instantiates a db as so:
from flask import Flask
from flask_sqlalchemy import SQLAlchemy

app = Flask(__name__)
# configure the SQLite database, relative to the app instance folder
app.config['SQLALCHEMY_DATABASE_URI'] = 'sqlite:///db.sqlite'
app.config['SQLALCHEMY_TRACK_MODIFICATIONS'] = False
db = SQLAlchemy(app)