Python Forum
Python for web apps - where to start?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python for web apps - where to start?
Information 
Hi, I have some basic programming knowledge (can read syntax, and understand functions and statements) I have never programmed in Python so I'm looking for the right start.
My goal is to make web apps with forms that enter data in a database (Mysql), manipulate said data in reports, and similar.
For example employee work hours management/calculation app, with employee info, worked hours, overtime, etc.
I have a Linux web server hosted online and I have installed Visual studio code (with python extension and ssh extension, I read it supports web apps)
When I programmed in VB a long time ago I used to make a form first and then connect everything in the back end, that's what I'm accustomed to so I'm looking for a similar setup.

I looked online and got some bits but not a complete picture: framework, IDE, ssh access

My question is what are the steps to have a good starting setup so I can play around with form design and back-end python?
I just want to make sure I begin my journey the right way.

If someone could point me in the right direction and just list the steps in terms of software or just a list of things I need to do, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you in advance.
There are several web development Frameworks available:

here's a list with links:
Flask
Django
Pyramid
Web2Py
Turbogears

I admit that I am biased, and use Flask I beleive that Django and Flask are considered the top two.
Both are good, so others will say Django is their favorite.
I think you should try as many as you have the patience for and then make your selection.
Should you decide on flask, there's a great tutorial here: The Flask Mega Tutorial
I'm sure you will find equally well written tutorials for each framework.

This will get you started.
Hi,