• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python package not seen in VSCode
Good afternoon,

I am new to coding, Linux and VSCode.

System - Linux Mint 21.1
Using VSCode to write script
Trying to import Pandas, Numpy, Ta-Lib and others package example: Import numpy
Error:
Error : Import "numpy" could not be resolved Pylance (reportMissingImports)
I tried to install Numpy with with pip, here is the end result:

pip install numpy
Output:
Defaulting to user installation because normal site-packages is not writeable Collecting numpy Using cached numpy-1.24.2-cp310-cp310-manylinux_2_17_x86_64.manylinux2014_x86_64.whl (17.3 MB) Installing collected packages: numpy WARNING: The scripts f2py, f2py3 and f2py3.10 are installed in '/home/user/.local/bin' which is not on PATH. Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --no-warn-script-location. Successfully installed numpy-1.24.2
Why and how can I fixed this?

Thanks
Larz60+ write Mar-06-2023, 08:28 PM:
Please post all code, output and errors (it it's entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
fixed for you this time, please use BBCode tags on future posts.
Did you create a virtual environment? You should not add packages to the system python.
I just created a venv following the instruction on VSCode tutorial and nothing change except that a .venv file has been added to my "project file".
I also looked at Python Interpreter and selected the new .venv option that is now available.
But when trying to import a package, example Numpy, it is still gray and the "Import "numpy" could not be resolved Pylance (reportMissingImports)" is still there.

Screenshot here:
https://ibb.co/QYJv71N
You need to activate the virtual environment and use pip fom inside the virtual environment.