Python Forum
Personal Project - JDR Tool Introduction (for data governance)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Personal Project - JDR Tool Introduction (for data governance)
Hi,
I recently started learning Python, so I tried to write this project as an exercise. The idea of the concept is derived from the solution to the difficulties encountered when helping the Ministry of Finance to develop the system. Share it here.

[Image: sg1lCzG.png]
Figure 1. Appearance of JDR tool

[Image: V1Qri4h.gif]
Figure 2. Using JDR tools to execute and manage programs

Link
Motivation
JDR (Job Dependency Runner) is a set of small data governance tools developed by this project. In short, it is a set of "programs used to assist in the execution and management of programs".

At work, the action of "executing a program" is not particularly difficult in most cases. Usually, you edit the command first, then throw it into the shell, or an interface/platform, and then wait for the result to come out. Will use tools like crontab to pre-schedule.

With this method, if the scale is only one or two to a dozen programs, there may be no problem, but if there are hundreds or thousands of programs, it will be difficult to manage. The reason lies in the management issues derived from "quantity" and "dependency"

These management issues include: "What is the current state of the program?", "What is the sequence of program execution?", "If a certain program needs to be re-run, will it affect which downstream related programs?" When the number of programs is larger, it is less likely to be managed by the engineer's memory. Even if the records are assisted by files, maintenance and searching will take time and cost.