Python Forum
Beginner, problem with CS50 vanity plates problem
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginner, problem with CS50 vanity plates problem
I am brand new to coding in general, and have recently started taking up python courses. For one assignment, the task is to create a program which determines if a vanity plate is valid or not. The rules are:

“All vanity plates must start with at least two letters.”
“… vanity plates may contain a maximum of 6 characters (letters or numbers) and a minimum of 2 characters.”
“Numbers cannot be used in the middle of a plate; they must come at the end. For example, AAA222 would be an acceptable … vanity plate; AAA22A would not be acceptable. The first number used cannot be a ‘0’.”
“No periods, spaces, or punctuation marks are allowed.”

Every other assignment so far has been relatively straight forward, but this one I just can't get right for some reason. I finally have it mostly complete but I keep getting the same two errors in the test system, which are:

:( input of CS50 yields output of Valid
expected "Valid", not "Invalid\n"
:( input of ECTO88 yields output of Valid
expected "Valid", not "Invalid\n"

I have NO IDEA why these two don't seem to work. They both print 'Invalid' when they should print 'Valid.' Not sure if my brain is just fried from trying over and over to work around it, but I would appreciate any help.

My code is below:
# Dictionary for punctuation
punctuation = {"!", "#", "$", "%", "&", "(", ")", "*", "+", ",", "-", ".", "/", ":", ";", "<", "=", ">", "?", "@", "[", "^", "]", "^", "_", "`", "{", ",", "|", "}", "~"}

# Main Function
def main():
    plate = input("Plate: ")
    if is_valid(plate):
        print("Valid")
    else:
        print("Invalid")

# "is_valid" Function
def is_valid(p):
    if len(p) < 2:
        return False
    elif len(p) > 6:
        return False
    elif contains_punctuation(p) == True:
        return False
    elif does_not_begin_with_letters(p) == True: