Python Forum
New to python/coding Need help on Understanding why this code isn't working. Thanks!
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to python/coding Need help on Understanding why this code isn't working. Thanks!
Hi all! I am new to python and coding in general. I am following along in a book and have come across code that the(interpreter/compiler **not sure which ones right) don't like. I am using VS Code in Anaconda to create and run the .py files. I don't know if that makes a difference. Anyways here is the code. Any help on understanding why this isn't working would be much appreciated. I think its the first line(def alphabetize(original_list=[])) it don't like. it has the squiggly line underneath it. I will be really thankful for any help/guidance anyone can give...

def alphabetize(original_list=[]):
    """Pass any list in square brackets, displays a string with items
    sorted"""
    #Inside the function make a working copy of the list passed in.
    sorted_list = original_list.copy()
    #Sort the working copy.
    sorted_list.sort()
    #Make a new empty string for output
    final_list = ''
    #Loop through sorted list and append name and comma and space.
    for name in sorted_list:
        final_list += name + ', '
    #Knock of last comma space if final list is long enough
    final_list = final_list[:-2]
    #Return the alphabetized list.
    return final_list
names = ['McMullen', 'Keaser', 'Maier', 'Wilson', 'Yudt', 'Gallagher', 'Jacobs']
alphabetize(names)
buran write May-08-2023, 09:28 AM:
Please, use proper tags when post code, traceback, output, etc. This time I have added tags for you.
See BBcode help for more info.
(May-08-2023, 08:51 AM)mat3372 Wrote: code that the(interpreter/compiler **not sure which ones right) don't like
What that does mean exactly? Do you get error?
There are several odd things in the code that you should be aware - using mutable default arguments and also you return string, not list