Python Forum
I hate "List index out of range"
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I hate "List index out of range"
Thumbs Down 
Hello!

I have a question, but please don't give me the answer. I'm just looking for some tips. I'm new to Python, and I'm posting here because I can't understand the logic of the "index out of range" error. I know that in Python we count from 0, but I'm (almost) sure that I haven't made any mistakes, and it still doesn't work... Wall

Is there something I should know? I'm hesitant to post my program's code because I really want to figure it out on my own, but I need some help.

I would have liked to figure it out on my own without having to ask, but oh well...
It could be many different errors you could make that result in an index out of range error, but they mostly fall into a few categories: You are not adding items to the list when you think you are. You are not indexing the list you think you are. Your counting is off.
Besides the error, the traceback should also show you the variable that is causing the problem and the line number.

You can add some print statements on the line before to check what you are assuming. Let's say that I get the error like this:

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "/tmp/indexerr.py", line 4, in <module> info = mylist[x] ~~~~~~^^^ IndexError: list index out of range
I might add some statements on line 3 that give me more information:

print(f"mylist has a length of {len(mylist)} and x has a value of {x}")
Now I can run the program and get more info:
Output:
mylist has a length of 15 and x has a value of 30 ...
Oh, no wonder I got an index error. Now I can track down why x is 30 here instead of whatever I expected it to be.
Gribouillis likes this post
(May-09-2023, 09:44 PM)Melen Wrote: Hello!