Python Forum
problem with a formula 1 kind of homework
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
problem with a formula 1 kind of homework
in preparatory classes we have something called tipe it is basically a kind of presentation that we need to prepare and we have to put in some added value to a certain "scientific" subject that relates to a theme chosen one year in advance i chose to talk about the optimization of race performance through the use of mathematics and python. now the added value that i consider doing is a python program that determines the best race strategy (which tire compound, the lap times, pit stops , etc) to use in order to get the best result. and the issue is that i am a beginner in this coding stuff and i do not know much about how to explore the different attributes available in packages and how to retrieve the data i need from those same packages.
the thing is i am maybe halfway through it but i am stuck.
this is the code:
import fastf1
import numpy as np
import pandas as pd

def evaluate_strategy(strategy, data, weather_data, car_data, pos_data):
    """
    Evaluate a race strategy based on lap times, tire compounds, weather data, car data, and pos data.

Args:
        strategy (tuple): A tuple of (number of laps, tire compound).
        data (pandas.DataFrame): A DataFrame of lap times and tire compounds.
        weather_data (fastf1.WeatherData): A WeatherData object containing weather data for the race.
        car_data (fastf1.CarData): A CarData object containing car data for all drivers.
        pos_data (fastf1.PosData): A PosData object containing position data for all drivers.

Returns:
        float: The score for the strategy.
    """
    lap_time_sum = strategy[0] * data['lap_time'].sum()
    tire_compound_score = len(data[data['tire_compound'] == strategy[1]])
    weather_score = weather_data.get_score(strategy[1])
    car_score = car_data.get_score(strategy[1])
    pos_score = pos_data.get_score(strategy[1])