Python Forum
problem in using int() with a list of strings
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
problem in using int() with a list of strings
hi
i am a beginner in python, so this problem that i encountered, maybe is silly.
i wrote in idle:

y=['l', '2', '3', '5', '8', '6', '9']
when i write int(y[0]) then i have an error as:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<pyshell#87>", line 1, in <module>
int(y[0])
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: 'l'

but when i write int(y[1]) or int(y[2]) , the correct values are displayed and there is no error. i searched net for this but i can not true thing.
thanks
To which value should I (capital letter i) convert as integer?

It’s always a good practice to read error messages.
akbarza likes this post
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
It is pretty silly. Lowercase "L" is not a valid literal for int. Try replacing "l" with "1" (one).

Valuable lesson though. Do not use lowercase L as a variable name because it is difficult to distinguish from the 1 (one). For the same reason don't use uppercase "o" as a variable name.
akbarza likes this post
(Jul-19-2023, 01:17 PM)akbarza Wrote: hi
i am a beginner in python, so this problem that i encountered, maybe is silly.
i wrote in idle:

y=['l', '2', '3', '5', '8', '6', '9']
when i write int(y[0]) then i have an error as:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<pyshell#87>", line 1, in <module>
int(y[0])
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: 'l'

but when i write int(y[1]) or int(y[2]) , the correct values are displayed and there is no error. i searched net for this but i can not true thing.
thanks

Well im noob too but

1. Quotes around the number makes it a string and int is for math not strings