Python Forum
Help with Python Script to generate SVG Dot Matrix Pattern for LED Light Guide
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with Python Script to generate SVG Dot Matrix Pattern for LED Light Guide
Hello, I'm a lighted sign designer and artist and I need to create a edge illuminated Light Guide panel for a piece of glass art that will hang in a local gallery. I found a link to some Python code that seems to do that but I need help or guidance in using it to generate the SVG pattern I need so I can etch the acrylic panel. The Light Guide Panel will be 27in wide by 37in tall and will be LED edge illuminated from the top and bottom (27in sides) I will be using a reflector and an a diffuser to complete the Light Guide but the critical component is the dot matrix distribution. Here is the link I found. Please let me know if anyone can help or point me in the right direction. Thank you!

https:// github.com/ Poofjunior/ jupyter_notebooks/ blob/ main/ light_guide_panel_generator/ light_guide_panel_generator.ipynb

Rick
How is this a Python question? It sounds like a "I don't know what to do with the dot matrix" question. Is this a coding question or a control question or a lighting question? More context please.
(Aug-25-2023, 01:52 PM)deanhystad Wrote: How is this a Python question? It sounds like a "I don't know what to do with the dot matrix" question. Is this a coding question or a control question or a lighting question? More context please.

Thank you for the question deanhystad, it is a Python question. I attached a link to a notebook with Python code that was written to generate this pattern. It appears the link I provided was not correct so here is again:

https:// github.com/ Poofjunior/ jupyter_notebooks/ blob/ main/ light_guide_panel_generator/ light_guide_panel_generator.ipynb

Here is an excerpt from his blog on HACKADAY (https:// hackaday.com/ 2023/03/13/ a-hackers-introduction-to-diy-light-guide-plates/)