Python Forum
Pynput - One content on screen, another in the variable
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pynput - One content on screen, another in the variable
Hi guys, I am using Pynput library to listen for the keyboard events and store typed keys in a variable, which I will use further for a text expansion.

However, I noticed, when I type too fast, that a simple code like the one below sometimes will place inside the accumulated_keys variable a different value from what I see on screen (which happens on any windows app). Sometimes I type "btw". I see "btw" on the screen but the variable shows "bwt" or vice-versa.

Why does this difference happen? Is there any workaround to solve it?

I am new to Python and programming, and I searched a lot about this. I know that inside specific apps (MS Word and others) I can get the value of the first word behind the cursor after I type, which is 100% reliable.

However, I want something more general and easy to implement in any input text window of the system. Is there a way to accomplish this? Any tips? My key listener must be fast and reliable. Thanks in advance.

from pynput.keyboard import Listener, Key

# Initialize variables
shift_pressed = False
accumulated_keys = ""

def press_on(key):
    global shift_pressed  # Declare it global to modify it inside the function
    if key == Key.shift or key == Key.shift_r:
        shift_pressed = True
    print(f"Press on {key}")

def press_off(key):
    global shift_pressed, accumulated_keys  # Declare them global to modify them inside the function

shift_pressed = False

if hasattr(key, 'char') and key.char:  # Check if the key has a printable character
        if shift_pressed:
            accumulated_keys += key.char.upper()
        else:
            accumulated_keys += key.char

print(f"Press OFF {key}, Accumulated keys: {accumulated_keys}")

if key == Key.esc:
        return False

with Listener(on_press=press_on, on_release=press_off) as listener:
    listener.join()