Python Forum
Find a specific keyword after another keyword and change the output
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Find a specific keyword after another keyword and change the output
I will start off by saying I am new to Python and I have searched Google for a fix to my problem. Maybe I did not search it well enough, or did not search it the right way, but I have not found an answer that is specific to my scenario.

I have a text file which reads:

"group_id":"1","severity":"low","status":not_a_finding
"group_id":"2","severity":"low","status":not_a_finding
"group_id":"3","severity":"low","status":not_a_finding

etc etc

I have tried to just narrow it down to searching for only the status on the line of group_id 1, but I can't even narrow that down correctly

What I am trying to do is open the file, find a certain group id, and change the status to something else. All my searches just show how to search for it with "re"
Again, this is probably simple and I just am not searching correctly, but I'm not sure how else to go about it.
What is the code you have tried?
I welcome all feedback.
The only dumb question, is one that doesn't get asked.
My Github
How to post code using bbtags

Guess I should have included that, my mistake.

import re
f = open('test.txt', 'r')
content = f.read()
keyword = "1"
re.findall(keyword ,content)
re.search(keyword ,content)
findall outputs: ['1']
search outputs:<re.Match object; span=(12, 13), match='1'>

As I said earlier, I am just starting with narrowing down the one status. I was searching by keyword "1" to eliminate the other 2 group_id numbers.
You don't need to use regular expression pattern matching for this. If you want group 1, filter out lines that don't start with "group_id":"1".