Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python Code Generator
I'm new to coding, but I've taken on a project to write a python code that generates plating for PCR set up.

At my lab we use a machine called OpenTrons hood and within it through python you can program protocols. This part is generally straightforward. Below is one code I set up for a PCR set up:

from opentrons import robot, containers, instruments

robot.head_speed(x=3000,  y=3000,  z=800, a=300, b=300)

# containers
plate = containers.load('96-PCR-short', 'D1', 'plate')
tube_rack = containers.load('tube-rack-.75ml', 'C1', 'tube_rack')

# a tip rack for our pipette
p10rack = containers.load('tiprack-10ul', 'B1', 'tiprack')
trash = containers.load('point', 'A1', 'trash' )

# p10 pipette on robot axis A
p10 = instruments.Pipette(
    trash_container=trash,
    name="p10",
    axis= "a",
    min_volume=1,
    max_volume=10,
    tip_racks=[p10rack]
)

# simple, atomic commands to control fine details
p10.pick_up_tip()

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('A1'),
    plate.wells('A1', 'A2', 'A3', 'B1', 'B2', 'B3', 'C1', 'C2', 'C3', 'G1', 'G2', 'G3'),
    blow_out=True

)

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('A2'),
    plate.wells('D1', 'D2', 'D3', 'E1', 'E2', 'E3', 'F1', 'F2', 'F3', 'H1', 'H2', 'H3'),
    blow_out=True

)

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('B1'),
    plate.wells('A1', 'B1', 'C1', 'D1', 'E1', 'F1'),
    blow_out=True
)

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('B2'),
    plate.wells('A2', 'B2', 'C2', 'D2', 'E2', 'F2'),
    blow_out=True
)

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('B3'),
    plate.wells('A3', 'B3', 'C3', 'D3', 'E3', 'F3',),
    blow_out=True
)

p10.transfer(
    tube_rack.wells('B4'),
    plate.wells('G1', 'G2', 'G3', 'H1', 'H2', 'H3',),
    blow_out=True
)