Python Forum
Adding spaces to digits
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Adding spaces to digits
"""I am new to python and programming in general, currently learning at an institution, which is why def is not even seen in my code. I am very lost right now, was tasked this:

Let us assume that we have the following credit card number issued by a
bank: (You can assume that user enter the credit card numbers separated by
hyphens)

2323-2005-7766-3554

For each of the tokens, you reverse the numbers (we remove the hyphen too)
3232 5002 6677 4553

For every token, you multiply by 2 every digit in the even position, i.e.
positions 2 and 4 (left to right for each token). We have the following new
four tokens:

3434 5004 612714 41056

I am stucked at the last part mentioned above. I am only able to get every single set of number separated by spaces.

Here's my code:
"""
print ("Welcome to DEF credit card company")
print()

ccnum_with_hyphens = input("Enter a credit card:")
ccnum_without_hyphens = ccnum_with_hyphens.replace("-", " ")

reversed_ccnum = ""

for i in range(0, len(ccnum_without_hyphens), 5):
    reversed_ccnum += ccnum_without_hyphens[i+3] + ccnum_without_hyphens[i+2]+ ccnum_without_hyphens[i+1] + ccnum_without_hyphens[i] + " "

print(reversed_ccnum)

reversed_ccnum = reversed_ccnum.replace(" ", "")
print(reversed_ccnum)
# Convert the string to a list of characters
chars = list(reversed_ccnum)

# Iterate over the characters and multiply every digit at even positions by 2
for i in range(1, len(chars)-2, 4):
    chars[i] = str(int(chars[i]) * 2)
for i in range(3, len(chars), 4):

modified_ccnum = ' '.join(chars)
print(modified_ccnum)
"""
I am stuck here. Can someone kindly help me out? Cry Thank you!
"""
There are a few different ways to do this and your code can be made much more succinct.

This (for example) removes the hyphens and reverses each 'token'. The resulting tokens are replaced, within the same list object.

ccn = "2323-2005-7766-3554"