Python Forum
File loop curiously skipping files - FIXED
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
File loop curiously skipping files - FIXED
I'll admit I'm a beginner in python. I'm trying to write a small program to list all the media on my NAS device and write to an easy to read html file. It seems to work BUT the writing to the html file stops at a certain point without an error. The program continues looping round and no error messages are generated. The html file is about 60K so it's not huge. I wondered if it was a bad filename but, if I write a large text string to the file at the start of the program, the output finishes at an earlier file though the program still continues looping round. I'm using IDLE - does that have a limit on the number of lines written? I assume it must be a bug in my code but I can't see anything (fames last words). Any suggestions of where to look?

import os
import re
import time

# init things
startDir = 'Z:/Films'
cnt = 0
totalCnt = 0
now = time.time()

print( "Running" )
f = open( "films.html", "w" )

# head
f.write( "<html><head>" )
str = """
<style>
td {
    background-color: 	#F0E68C;
    font-size: 22px;
}
th {
    background-color: 	#808080;
    font-size: 26px;
}
</style>
</head>
"""
f.write( str )

# body
f.write( "<body  style='background-color:#EEE8AA'><center>" )

# loop through directories
for root, dirs, filenames in os.walk( startDir ):    # recursively goes through all dir
   dir = root.split(os.path.sep)[-1]   # path, split, one back

if dir == "Z:/Films": continue
   # if dir == "SciFi": continue

# ignore the TV section
   if "TV" in root: continue   # should of moved above loop, multi line

str = "<table border=1 width=800 size=+1><tr><Th colspan=2><b>" + dir + "</b></th></tr>\n"
   f.write( str )
   left = True
   cnt = 0

# loop through each file
   for filename in filenames:   # filen

# get film type
      type = re.sub('.*[.]', '', filename )

# ignore if not video type