Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2024
Nov-08-2024, 09:46 AM
(This post was last modified: Nov-08-2024, 12:32 PM by buran.)
HI Team,
As am unable to run python code in both google colabs and Visual studio, getting below error tried all basic trouble shooting which has not fixed the issue.
request you to kindly help.
Platform: windows
Error:
Error: AttributeError Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-22-2a3693dff072> in <cell line: 83>()
81
82 # Create the main window
---> 83 root = tk.tk()
84 root.title("Historical Event Analysis")
85
AttributeError: module 'tkinter' has no attribute 'tk'
/usr/lib/python3.10/tkinter/__init__.py in __init__(self, screenName, baseName, className, useTk, sync, use)
2297 baseName = baseName + ext
2298 interactive = False
-> 2299 self.tk = _tkinter.create(screenName, baseName, className, interactive, wantobjects, useTk, sync, use)
2300 if useTk:
2301 self._loadtk()
TclError: no display name and no $DISPLAY environment variable
Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2024
Nov-08-2024, 10:12 AM
(This post was last modified: Nov-08-2024, 10:29 AM by Gribouillis.)
Hey! There’s a small typo in your code: instead of tk.tk(), try tk.Tk(). Tkinter is case-sensitive, so Tk is the proper method for the main window. That should fix it if that’s the only issue!
By the way, this happens to the best of us. Typos sneak in everywhere. Let us know how it goes! Link Removed
Posts: 2,125
Threads: 11
Joined: May 2017
Nov-08-2024, 12:36 PM
(This post was last modified: Nov-08-2024, 12:36 PM by DeaD_EyE.)
You can't use tkinter , QT or other GUI frameworks in Google Colab nor on other services, which let run your Code in your Browser. In the case of Google Colab, it seems that the Code runs on the Google Colab backend, which runs Linux. Even if the backend has an active X11/Wayland-Session, it is not able to display the GUI on your computer. It runs on the Google Server.
Here a screenshot:
Run your GUI code locally on your Windows System.
PS: Google Colab runs: Linux 5a99cc492ea9 6.1.85+ #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Thu Jun 27 21:05:47 UTC 2024 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2024
(Nov-08-2024, 10:12 AM)DesmondWatson Wrote: Hey! There’s a small typo in your code: instead of tk.tk(), try tk.Tk(). Tkinter is case-sensitive, so Tk is the proper method for the main window. That should fix it if that’s the only issue!
By the way, this happens to the best of us. Typos sneak in everywhere. Let us know how it goes! Link Removed
HI Watson,
Thank for response..!
tried above recommendation which has not fixed issue yet.
Attaching the code for your reference. please check and let me know where it is going wrong.
Attached Files
test01.py (Size: 3.2 KB / Downloads: 35)
Posts: 1,027
Threads: 16
Joined: Dec 2016
Post your code using the python button (insert python)
Posts: 6,780
Threads: 20
Joined: Feb 2020
Post code instead of attaching files.
One problem you have is there are two mainloop() calls in your code. mainloop() is a blocking function. It does not complete until you close all the windows in your program. It prevents your program from adding widgets to the main window until you close the main window.
Your code with the extra mainloop() call removed:
import tkinter as tk
from tkinter import ttk
import json
import os
def analyze_historical_events(events):
"""Analyzes historical event data to identify patterns and potential issues."""
event_counts = {}
location_counts = {}
for event in events:
event_type = event.get("type", "Unknown")
location = event.get("location", "Unknown")
if event_type not in event_counts:
event_counts[event_type] = 0
event_counts[event_type] += 1
if location not in location_counts:
location_counts[location] = 0
location_counts[location] += 1
# Identify potential issues (e.g., frequent incidents in a specific location)
potential_issues = []
for event_type, count in event_counts.items():
if count > 5: # Example threshold
potential_issues.append(f"Frequent {event_type} events detected (count: {count})")
for location, count in location_counts.items():
if count > 3: # Example threshold
potential_issues.append(f"High incident frequency in {location} (count: {count})")
analysis_results = {
"event_counts": event_counts,
"location_counts": location_counts,
"potential_issues": potential_issues,
}
return analysis_results
def load_incidents():
filename = "incidents.json"
if os.path.exists(filename):
with open(filename, "r") as f:
try:
incidents = json.load(f)
return incidents
except json.JSONDecodeError:
return []
return []
def analyze_and_display_results():
incidents = load_incidents()
if not incidents:
results_text.delete("1.0", tk.END)
results_text.insert(tk.END, "No incidents found.")
return
analysis_results = analyze_historical_events(incidents)
results_text.delete("1.0", tk.END)
results_text.insert(
tk.END,
"Event Type Counts:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {k}: {v}" for k, v in analysis_results["event_counts"].items()])
+ "\n\nLocation Counts:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {k}: {v}" for k, v in analysis_results["location_counts"].items()])
+ "\n\nPotential Issues:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {issue}" for issue in analysis_results["potential_issues"]]),
)
# Create the main window
root = tk.Tk()
root.title("Historical Event Analysis")
# Create a frame for the results
results_frame = ttk.Frame(root)
results_frame.grid(row=0, column=0, padx=10, pady=10, sticky="nsew")
# Create a text widget to display results
results_text = tk.Text(results_frame, wrap=tk.WORD)
results_text.grid(row=0, column=0, sticky="nsew")
results_frame.rowconfigure(0, weight=1)
results_frame.columnconfigure(0, weight=1)
# Create a button to analyze incidents
analyze_button = ttk.Button(root, text="Analyze Incidents", command=analyze_and_display_results)
analyze_button.grid(row=1, column=0, padx=10, pady=10)
# Configure row and column weights to make the results frame expandable
root.rowconfigure(0, weight=1)
root.columnconfigure(0, weight=1)
root.mainloop()
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2024
(Nov-08-2024, 07:22 PM)deanhystad Wrote: Post code instead of attaching files.
One problem you have is there are two mainloop() calls in your code. mainloop() is a blocking function. It does not complete until you close all the windows in your program. It prevents your program from adding widgets to the main window until you close the main window.
Your code with the extra mainloop() call removed:
import tkinter as tk
from tkinter import ttk
import json
import os
def analyze_historical_events(events):
"""Analyzes historical event data to identify patterns and potential issues."""
event_counts = {}
location_counts = {}
for event in events:
event_type = event.get("type", "Unknown")
location = event.get("location", "Unknown")
if event_type not in event_counts:
event_counts[event_type] = 0
event_counts[event_type] += 1
if location not in location_counts:
location_counts[location] = 0
location_counts[location] += 1
# Identify potential issues (e.g., frequent incidents in a specific location)
potential_issues = []
for event_type, count in event_counts.items():
if count > 5: # Example threshold
potential_issues.append(f"Frequent {event_type} events detected (count: {count})")
for location, count in location_counts.items():
if count > 3: # Example threshold
potential_issues.append(f"High incident frequency in {location} (count: {count})")
analysis_results = {
"event_counts": event_counts,
"location_counts": location_counts,
"potential_issues": potential_issues,
}
return analysis_results
def load_incidents():
filename = "incidents.json"
if os.path.exists(filename):
with open(filename, "r") as f:
try:
incidents = json.load(f)
return incidents
except json.JSONDecodeError:
return []
return []
def analyze_and_display_results():
incidents = load_incidents()
if not incidents:
results_text.delete("1.0", tk.END)
results_text.insert(tk.END, "No incidents found.")
return
analysis_results = analyze_historical_events(incidents)
results_text.delete("1.0", tk.END)
results_text.insert(
tk.END,
"Event Type Counts:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {k}: {v}" for k, v in analysis_results["event_counts"].items()])
+ "\n\nLocation Counts:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {k}: {v}" for k, v in analysis_results["location_counts"].items()])
+ "\n\nPotential Issues:\n"
+ "\n".join([f"- {issue}" for issue in analysis_results["potential_issues"]]),
)
# Create the main window
root = tk.Tk()
root.title("Historical Event Analysis")
# Create a frame for the results
results_frame = ttk.Frame(root)
results_frame.grid(row=0, column=0, padx=10, pady=10, sticky="nsew")
# Create a text widget to display results
results_text = tk.Text(results_frame, wrap=tk.WORD)
results_text.grid(row=0, column=0, sticky="nsew")
results_frame.rowconfigure(0, weight=1)
results_frame.columnconfigure(0, weight=1)
# Create a button to analyze incidents
analyze_button = ttk.Button(root, text="Analyze Incidents", command=analyze_and_display_results)
analyze_button.grid(row=1, column=0, padx=10, pady=10)
# Configure row and column weights to make the results frame expandable
root.rowconfigure(0, weight=1)
root.columnconfigure(0, weight=1)
root.mainloop()
HI,
The above code has not worked even after removing additional mail loop in colabs.
Thanks
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Nov 2024
(Nov-08-2024, 12:36 PM)DeaD_EyE Wrote: You can't use tkinter , QT or other GUI frameworks in Google Colab nor on other services, which let run your Code in your Browser. In the case of Google Colab, it seems that the Code runs on the Google Colab backend, which runs Linux. Even if the backend has an active X11/Wayland-Session, it is not able to display the GUI on your computer. It runs on the Google Server.
Here a screenshot:
Run your GUI code locally on your Windows System.
PS: Google Colab runs: Linux 5a99cc492ea9 6.1.85+ #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Thu Jun 27 21:05:47 UTC 2024 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
HI,
Tried in Visual studio as well its not working.
thanks
Posts: 1,144
Threads: 114
Joined: Sep 2019
The code runs fine on my box. Of coarse there is no data input
|