Python Forum
django rest framework - custom routes
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
django rest framework - custom routes
Hi there,

Firstly, I hope that this query is in the correct format, apologies if it breaks any forum guidelines - let me know and I'll amend it.

Some background - I have been asked by a client to build a system in python 3 + django 1.11. I have no previous experience of either (they are aware of this), having done most of my web development work for the last 15 years in either PHP with or without a framework (eg Zend, Laravel, Yii) or prior to that, ASP.NET and prior even to that, using ColdFusion. So I suppose I come with some baggage in terms of pre-conceptions of how django should work which is hampering me.

The system is really just a set of models and some APIs over the top of them. Mostly CRUD, but I also need some custom APIs too. After several failed attempts, I have managed to get the models and CRUD APIs working using the djangorestframework package. I am using the default router from the rest framework in the urls.py file and Viewsets to manage views.py file.

Now I am stuck. I cannot figure out how to add additional routes - everything I try leads to errors.

As an example. Say I have a Project model. A Project has zero to many Task models associated with it. Currently, I would have something like this in the routing (I have removed some lines):

from django.conf import settings
from rest_framework import routers
from django.conf.urls import include, url
from django.contrib import admin
import projects.api.views as api_views

router = routers.DefaultRouter()
router.register(r'project', api_views.ProjectAPIViewset)
router.register(r'task', api_views.TaskAPIViewset)

urlpatterns = [
    url(r'^api/', include(router.urls)),
    url(r'^admin/', admin.site.urls),
]
What I would like is to add a route along these lines:
GET /api/project/12345/tasks