Python Forum
Cant pass corect variables to python script in bash script
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Cant pass corect variables to python script in bash script
#1
Hi im not familiar with python, I have som strange problem.

I have a bash script for example test.sh:

#!/usr/bin/bash

/usr/bin/python3.4 /home/my/test.py "$1"



If I call script test.py directly from command line as /usr/bin/python3.4 /home/my/test.py "ťčšťčš" it works


If a call script test.sh from commandline: test.sh "ťčšťčš" it not works

if im using only English chars it works in argument.. problem is only with non-English chars.



How to debug this ? Please help..
Im think everythink is Unicode... so bash is Unicode friendly python 3 is too .. I have no idea where is the problem ... sorry for my English..

sorry my mistake... ist a bit complicated...


Runing bash script works...


I wish use that bash script in sieve filter... so sieve passing utf8 encoded variables to bash and bash passint it to python... with only english chars it is ok.. but passing non english is buggy it

please delete this thread
Reply
#2
I don't know for bash but it depends on the terminal emulator you are using. If it is not support utf-8, bash can't do anything.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
Reply
#3
It depends on the encoding used in the bash script file. It should match the one defined in your locale. Issue the "locale" command. It will list several environment variables (the important one is LANG). The last element of these variables (after the dot) is the encoding used by default on your system. Make sure your editor uses it.
Unless noted otherwise, code in my posts should be understood as "coding suggestions", and its use may require more neurones than the two necessary for Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.
Your one-stop place for all your GIMP needs: gimp-forum.net
Reply
#4
Not sure, but I'm guessing the utf is the culprit. Just for chuckles, try copying the file
to one with an ASCII name like 'abc' and see if that will work
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  How to include one script into another? MorningWave 8 305 Mar-21-2024, 10:34 PM
Last Post: MorningWave
  ChromeDriver breaking Python script genericusername12414 1 217 Mar-14-2024, 09:39 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  using PowerShell from Python script for mounting shares tester_V 8 399 Mar-12-2024, 06:26 PM
Last Post: tester_V
  No Internet connection when running a Python script basil_555 8 442 Mar-11-2024, 11:02 AM
Last Post: snippsat
Question Running Python script through Task Scheduler? Winfried 8 335 Mar-10-2024, 07:24 PM
Last Post: Winfried
  Combine console script + GUI (tkinter) dejot 2 360 Feb-27-2024, 04:38 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  How to receive two passed cmdline parameters and access them inside a Python script? pstein 2 278 Feb-17-2024, 12:29 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  OBS Script Troubleshooting Jotatochips 0 252 Feb-10-2024, 06:18 PM
Last Post: Jotatochips
  Is possible to run the python command to call python script on linux? cuten222 6 632 Jan-30-2024, 09:05 PM
Last Post: DeaD_EyE
  Triggering a ps1 script in remote windows server via http python request jasveerjassi 1 319 Jan-26-2024, 07:02 PM
Last Post: deanhystad

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020