Python Forum
Selenium chromedriver and click action
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Selenium chromedriver and click action
Hello,

I am new to this and I am trying to click on a button with selenium and chromedriver, the button element is as below:

<button class="pagination-button pagination-direction pagination-direction--next" data-bind="click: goto.bind($data, 'next'), disable : isOnLastPage" data-test="pagination-next"> <span>Next</span> <div class="no-svg-chevron pagination-chevron pagination-chevron--forward pagination-chevron--next"> <svg> <use xmlns:xlink="http://www.w3.org/1999/xlink" xlink:href="#core-icon--chevron"></use> </svg> </div> </button>

I have tried with xpath and find element by class name, but click or submitting is not working.

Find below an extract of the different codes:
button = driver.find_element_by_class_name('pagination-direction--next')
button.click()
and the error:
Error:
selenium.common.exceptions.WebDriverException: Message: unknown error: Element <button class="pagination-button pagination-direction pagination-direction--next" data-bind="click: goto.bind($data, 'next'), disable : isOnLastPage" data-test="pagination-next">...</button> is not clickable at point (820, 853). Other element would receive the click: <button class="button" data-bind="click: closeMessage" data-test="close-cookie-popup-button">...</button>
if I replace click() by submit, I get the below error:

selenium.common.exceptions.NoSuchElementException: Message: no such element: Element was not in a form, so could not submit.

another test:
button = driver.find_element_by_xpath("//*[@id='l-container']/div[3]/div/div/div/div[3]/button")
button.click()
the error:
Error: