Python Forum
Thank you from a rookie with a question
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thank you from a rookie with a question
Good afternoon folks :) I have a question that's going to require a fairly deep technical review but as I am new to python (2 weeks) and getting further than my previous attempts at object oriented programming and did I mention I have a brain injury :) So I will ask kind of a general question to which I will get all righteously indignant if you yell at me that I need specific examples! :) I get it. Bear with me. Thanks in advance.

I have a class to represent a singular object - although this isn't my example, we'll just say "character"
Obviously, the character can have equipment.
Some of that equipment can be containers.
The contents of the containers can be a variety of objects.

My code currently instantiates the character object and creates an object attribute that is for example items{} in the constructor for the object.
My code also populates the character object with the rows of items{} successfully
Some of the character.items rows need character.items.contents

What I am struggling with is the notation necessary to create character.items.container.(attributes here)

In general what I am doing is
defining the character class
defining the items class
defining the containers

populating a new character object
getting the list of items in inventory
storing them as character.items{}
getting the contents of the containers
printing out the contents of the container
breaking down trying to store it

my method of adding a new object is to do addItemToInventory passing the parameter of the item object and then addingContentsToItem. The methods for adding define a new object set the attributes and returns an object :

(this is my example, obviously not RPG characters)

self.planets[_planetID]=Planet.addPlanetToChar(_solarSystemID, _planetID, _planetType, _ownerID, _lastUpdate, _upgradeLevel, _numPins)