Python Forum
Not Getting The desired output on my system - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Not Getting The desired output on my system (/thread-2669.html)

Pages: 1 2


Not Getting The desired output on my system - Rashi - Apr-01-2017

from tkinter import *
import random

class ExamGuru:
    def _init_(self, parent):
        self.parent=parent
        self.index=0
        self.question_num=1
        self.score=0
        self.questions=[Question("First Insurance Company In India ? ", "Oreintal Life Insurance",["Bombay Mutual Insurance","Western India Insurance","LIC"]),
                        Question("Which Of The Following Risks Are Insurable ?", "Financial Risk",["Non Financial","Both","None"])]

        self.mainquestionframe= Frame(parent, bg="orange", width=800, height=500)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack_propagate(0)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack(pady=5)

        self.headingframe= Frame(self.mainquestionframe, bg="blue",Width=800, height=40)
        self.headingframe.pack_propagate()
        self.headingframe.pack(pady=5)


class Question:
    def _init_(self,question,answer,dummies):
        self.question=question
        self.answer=answer
        self.dummies=dummies
        self.set_answers()

    def set_answers(self):
        self.answers=self.dummies
        self.answer.insert(random.randrange(len(self.dummies)+1), self.answer)


if __name__=='__main__':
    root=Tk()
    
    root.title("Exam Guru")
    root.mainloop()
not getting any anything on the tkinter window
system- ubuntu 14.04
python version - 3.4.3


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Larz60+ - Apr-01-2017

You haven't instantiated any classes, so the only code that's going to execute is the code in your if __name__ ... clause
This probably means the window will be incredably small, and your probably just not seeing it.
try adding this line after your title command:
root.geometry('200x200+10+10')
That will give you more surface area to look at.


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Rashi - Apr-03-2017

(Apr-01-2017, 03:27 PM)Larz60+ Wrote: You haven't instantiated any classes, so the only code that's going to execute is the code in your if __name__ ... clause
This probably means the window will be incredably small, and your probably just not seeing it.
try adding this line after your title command:
root.geometry('200x200+10+10')
That will give you more surface area to look at.

nope its not working either yes the tkinter window is small but its not so small that it cannot be seen nothing is in there expect for the title of the window


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - wavic - Apr-03-2017

I don't know Tkinter at all but you don't use ExamGuru anywhere.

if __name__=='__main__':
    root=Tk()     
    root.title("Exam Guru")
    app = ExamGuru(master=root)
    app.mainloop()
Ref.: https://docs.python.org/3.5/library/tkinter.html#a-simple-hello-world-program


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Larz60+ - Apr-03-2017

The instructions I gave you are valid.
Lat me have a look'

try:
from tkinter import *
import random
 
class ExamGuru:
    def _init_(self, parent, title='None', geometry='100x100+10+10'):
        self.parent=parent
        self.parent.geometry(geometry)
        self.title(title)
        self.index=0
        self.question_num=1
        self.score=0
        self.questions=[Question("First Insurance Company In India ? ", "Oreintal Life Insurance",["Bombay Mutual Insurance","Western India Insurance","LIC"]),
                        Question("Which Of The Following Risks Are Insurable ?", "Financial Risk",["Non Financial","Both","None"])]
 
        self.mainquestionframe= Frame(parent, bg="orange", width=800, height=500)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack_propagate(0)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack(pady=5)
 
        self.headingframe= Frame(self.mainquestionframe, bg="blue",Width=800, height=40)
        self.headingframe.pack_propagate()
        self.headingframe.pack(pady=5)
 
 
class Question:
    def _init_(self,question,answer,dummies):
        self.question=question
        self.answer=answer
        self.dummies=dummies
        self.set_answers()
 
    def set_answers(self):
        self.answers=self.dummies
        self.answer.insert(random.randrange(len(self.dummies)+1), self.answer)
 
 
if __name__=='__main__':
    root=Tk()
    ExamGuru(parent=root, title="Exam Guru", geometry='600x400+10+10')
    root.mainloop()



RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Rashi - Apr-08-2017

(Apr-03-2017, 06:35 PM)Larz60+ Wrote: The instructions I gave you are valid.
Lat me have a look'

try:
from tkinter import *
import random
 
class ExamGuru:
    def _init_(self, parent, title='None', geometry='100x100+10+10'):
        self.parent=parent
        self.parent.geometry(geometry)
        self.title(title)
        self.index=0
        self.question_num=1
        self.score=0
        self.questions=[Question("First Insurance Company In India ? ", "Oreintal Life Insurance",["Bombay Mutual Insurance","Western India Insurance","LIC"]),
                        Question("Which Of The Following Risks Are Insurable ?", "Financial Risk",["Non Financial","Both","None"])]
 
        self.mainquestionframe= Frame(parent, bg="orange", width=800, height=500)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack_propagate(0)
        self.mainquestionframe.pack(pady=5)
 
        self.headingframe= Frame(self.mainquestionframe, bg="blue",Width=800, height=40)
        self.headingframe.pack_propagate()
        self.headingframe.pack(pady=5)
 
 
class Question:
    def _init_(self,question,answer,dummies):
        self.question=question
        self.answer=answer
        self.dummies=dummies
        self.set_answers()
 
    def set_answers(self):
        self.answers=self.dummies
        self.answer.insert(random.randrange(len(self.dummies)+1), self.answer)
 
 
if __name__=='__main__':
    root=Tk()
    ExamGuru(parent=root, title="Exam Guru", geometry='600x400+10+10')
    root.mainloop()
i tried ur code executed it but still nothing its same as before

i am on ubuntu 14.04 maybe thats the reason ?



RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Larz60+ - Apr-08-2017

Please post all traceback code.
If you are not getting an error, it wouldn't hurt to add some print statements here and there to see where faililg


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Rashi - Apr-12-2017

(Apr-08-2017, 09:29 PM)Larz60+ Wrote: Please post all traceback code.
If you are not getting an error,  it wouldn't hurt to add some print statements here and there to see where faililg

nevermind i ditched that code and starting working with a new one it was getting complex every minute for me


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Larz60+ - Apr-12-2017

Quote:it was getting complex every minute for me
Code has a way of doing that. Keep your methods and functions simple,
so only one thing in each


RE: Not Getting The desired output on my system - Rashi - Apr-12-2017

(Apr-12-2017, 12:01 PM)Larz60+ Wrote:
Quote:it was getting complex every minute for me
Code has a way of doing that. Keep your methods and functions simple,
so only one thing in each
well i tried to keep it as much simple as i can but now i m stuck while making a function to make it run properly can u help me out ?