Python Forum
New to coding - Python error: TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: 'str' and
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to coding - Python error: TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: 'str' and
Hello, I am new to coding so I was trying to test unicode and 'encrypting' stuff if you can even call it like that.I currently use Windows 10 and my Python version is 3.7, anyways I got that message, this is the code: (NOTE: I made an 'encryption' thing too but it worked and this wont)

while True:
    try:
        message = int(input("Enter a message you want to be decrypted: "))
        break
    except ValueError:
        print("Error, please enter an integer")
secret_string = ""
for char in message:
    secret_string += str(chr(char - str(742146)))
print("Decrypted:", secret_string)
q = input("")
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:\Users\Aleksa\Desktop\decrypt.py", line 6, in <module> secret_string += str(chr(char - str(742146))) TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: 'str' and 'str'
Please, post the entire traceback that you get. We need to see that whole thing. Do not just give us the last line.
Take a time to read What to include in a post

Also, fix the indentation of your code
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

I've been working on a simple 'project' basically what it does is that I insert an message and it translates it to unicode and it adds like 7839 to it so it would be 'secret'. Process of transforming it into unicode works but problem occurs when I wrote 'decrypt' thing, I am running windows 10 and python 3.70. Here is the code and the error:

while True:
    try:
        message = int(input("Enter a message you want to be decrypted: "))
        break
    except ValueError:
secret_string = ""
for char in message: