Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Visual Studio Code help
#1
Good Evening,

i am new to Python so i am taking an online course that will help me learn how to code Python and add it to my skill set

following the instructions provided by the tutorial i installed VS Code, because that is what the class is using, i start to type and i get an error saying Linter pylint is not installed and when i go to install it i get an error that says because there is an an & in my computers name it can't work

here are pictures of the error [Image: KbXRvN4]

if the image paste did not work here is the imgur link https://imgur.com/a/KbXRvN4

Any help would be appreciated

Thank you

P.S if this was posted in the wrong area i apologize
Reply
#2
Why do you put an ampersand in front of your command?
Don't do this.

The ampersand in the path should not make trouble and if this is the case, you can still put the path into quotes.

PS: Use the tool py.exe.

py -3.8 -m pip install pylint black autopep8
If you have installed 32 bit and 64 bit together, you can also select the architecture:

py -3.8-32 -m pip install pylint black autopep8
py -3.8-64 -m pip install pylint black autopep8
Or a previous version:
py -3.7 -m pip install pylint black autopep8
Depends on what you've installed.
Almost dead, but too lazy to die: https://sourceserver.info
All humans together. We don't need politicians!
Reply
#3
Look at VS Code from start and Python 3.8 (3.6-3.7) and pip installation under Windows.
There you see i start with testing that python and pip command work from command line.
Can use py as @DeaD_EyE show,but should have the main Python version you use in OS Environment Variables Path.
Then is only pip install pylint.
From eg PowerShell.
# Test python 
PS C:\> python -V
Python 3.8.3

# Test pip
PS C:\> pip -V
pip 20.2 from c:\python38\lib\site-packages\pip (python 3.8)

# Install
PS C:\> pip install pylint
Collecting pylint ..... 
Successfully installed astroid-2.4.2 isort-4.3.21 lazy-object-proxy-1.4.3 mccabe-0.6.1 pylint-2.5.3 toml-0.10.1 wrapt-1.12.1
Reply
#4
How do I make a C# Console app build and debug in Visual Studio Code?

I have already built my C# Console App in Visual Studio Code. The issue I have is when I reopen the folder where the project file is in Visual Studio Code and then rebuilding the code and debugging it again.

Here is what I do and what happens. After I open the folder where the project file resides, I click on this to process the code to debug:

[Image: 07.png]

And then I click on the appearing "Run and Debug" button

[Image: 08.png]

But then the bottom status bar says "Looking for CSS classes in the workspace..." followed by a percentage in paragraphs. Why is this? Why does this happen when there are no CSS classes at all and my project is a C# project?

[Image: 09.png]

Why is this? This is just a brief snapshot of some difficulties I find when I reopen a project after I have closed Visual Studio Code. I have experienced other errors and problems in building and running my code.

To continue, in order to deal with the project as a solution, I click on this icon to open the solution panel.

[Image: 10.png]

This seemingly allows me to view the solution. As the following view appears, I click on the project.cs file and attempt a debugging session from there.

[Image: 11...png]

With this file being displayed, I clicked on the menu option, Run -> Start Debugging

[Image: 12...png]

Then, at this point, in the pop up option window that appears in the middle and top of the development environment, I pick "C#":

[Image: 13...png]

Something went wrong and in the bottom right of my IDE, I get this message:

[Image: 14.png]

Please advise. What should I do now?
Reply
#5
Why are you asking about C# on a Python forum?
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  I cannot create a virtual environment on visual studio code using python Willem_Aucamp316 2 2,731 Nov-27-2024, 02:20 PM
Last Post: menator01
  Code Completion in Visual Studio for External Libraries mjakov 0 565 Aug-25-2024, 02:48 PM
Last Post: mjakov
  My code works on Jupyter Lab/Notebook, but NOT on Visual Code Editor jst 4 4,025 Nov-15-2023, 06:56 PM
Last Post: jst
  How to set PYTHONPATH in Visual Studio Code? aupres 5 12,198 Aug-15-2023, 03:51 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  how do I open two instances of visual studio code with the same folder? SuchUmami 3 3,838 Jun-26-2023, 09:40 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  Visual Studio Code NewPi 3 2,020 May-16-2023, 11:13 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Visual Studio Code venv ibm_db error mesi1000 7 4,858 Nov-13-2022, 12:36 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  debugging help on Visual Studio Code mg24 12 3,971 Oct-02-2022, 12:18 AM
Last Post: mg24
  Problem with importing Python file in Visual Studio Code DXav 7 9,455 Jun-15-2022, 12:54 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Visual Studio Code Intellisense for Imported Modules Not Working hockinsk 1 4,219 Apr-23-2022, 04:41 PM
Last Post: deanhystad

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020