Python Forum
My code works on Jupyter Lab/Notebook, but NOT on Visual Code Editor
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My code works on Jupyter Lab/Notebook, but NOT on Visual Code Editor
Hi, I'm trying to make a bot for trading, I'm still very new to this. I use Meta Trader 5.

I tested the code to get a price on Jupyter Lab, and it worked fine. Then I copy pasted the same exact code to Visual Code Studio and getting an error, how come the same exact code works on one editor and not on the other editor ?

This is the code :
import MetaTrader5 as mt5
from datetime import datetime
symbol = 'XAUUSD.GK'
price = mt5.symbol_info_tick(symbol).ask
print (price)
On Jupyter It gave me the exact thing I want, 1973.035 , which is the price I want to check.

But on Visual Code Studio, it doesn't work and gave me this error message AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'ask'

I also have tried running this code on both Jupyter and Visual Code Studio :
from sysconfig import get_paths as gp; print(gp()['include'])

and it refers to the same folder path. C:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python310\Include

Can anyone please tell how to fix it ?

-edit-

Problem solved.
I have to logout and use :
authorized=mt5.initialize(path="C:/Program Files/[THIS IS THE BROKER'S FOLDER APP]/terminal64.exe",login=accountnumber, server="demoserver",password="yourownpass")

It should use the terminal64.exe from the broker's folder app, and it has to be initialized first to use it.

Please close the thread. It's solved.
Where do you connect to metatrader? Maybe this happens automatically when using metatrader in jupyter notebook. In python you have to call MetaTrader5.initialize().

Documentation is here:

https://www.mql5.com/en/docs/python_metatrader5
(Nov-15-2023, 02:46 PM)deanhystad Wrote: Where do you connect to metatrader? Maybe this happens automatically when using metatrader in jupyter notebook. In python you have to call MetaTrader5.initialize().