Python Forum
Python broken if moved to a different folder
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Python broken if moved to a different folder
#1
Hi,

I'm building a installer to redistribute inside my company Scons with some special tools developed in-house. The idea is to have an environment with Python, SCons and our in-house tools independent of any other Python installation. I'm using InnoSetup as installer. We are using Windows OS.

I found that I cannot change the Python installation directory without breaking the "exe's"under %Python%\Scripts. But then I realized that by fixing the shebang of the *-script.py files the problem was solved. So I adapt my Inno scripts to fix this automatically and everything worked ok.

Now I wanted to do a new install with Python 3.8 (prior was Python 3.9) and the problem that I'm encountering is that when I "pip install" scons, I only get a bunch of "exe's" under Scripts and no *-script.py file where I can replace the shebang line.

At the beginning I thought, ok, maybe now I can simply change the Python directory without having to worry about shebang lines, but I foound the same issue, scons.exe will not run if I move the python installation folder.

I spend 4 hours with this issue, googling it and trying different things and anything work.

How can I make pip install to create *-script.pu files? Or how can I make a Python installation that does not depend on the absolute path where Python was installed?
Reply
#2
Can you create a "wrapper" script? Have it gather the args passed in, then it sets PYTHONPATH to your installation and calls the correct python exe and passes in the arguments.
Reply
#3
(Oct-26-2020, 10:13 PM)bowlofred Wrote: Can you create a "wrapper" script? Have it gather the args passed in, then it sets PYTHONPATH to your installation and calls the correct python exe and passes in the arguments.

I could create a cmd that (for my example), does:

@%~d0%~p0..\python.exe -m SCons %*
But I'm not sure if this is the correct "pythonic" way, apart from having to manually create the .cmd files myself.
Reply
#4
I think the point is this: https://python-packaging.readthedocs.io/...ripts.html. How can I make those console scripts turn to be cmd files instead of exe files? Or how can this exe files can work with paths relative to the script and not absolute.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  BrokenPipeError: [Errno 32] Broken pipe throwaway34 6 491 May-06-2021, 05:39 AM
Last Post: throwaway34
  Move file from one folder to another folder with timestamp added end of file shantanu97 0 319 Mar-22-2021, 10:59 AM
Last Post: shantanu97
  Python Cut/Copy paste file from folder to another folder rdDrp 4 1,041 Aug-19-2020, 12:40 PM
Last Post: rdDrp
  STT: recognition connection failed: [Errno 32] Broken pipe GrahamBerends 0 1,132 Jul-18-2020, 11:00 PM
Last Post: GrahamBerends
  How to change directory to any folder where python is not installed ? firashelou 4 735 Apr-03-2020, 02:43 PM
Last Post: firashelou
  Could These Two Threads Of Mine Be Moved To This Forum ? eddywinch82 1 581 Feb-16-2020, 10:44 AM
Last Post: buran
  Python DateTime is broken 10OctNotOct10a1 8 1,635 Jan-03-2020, 07:54 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  Broken interpreter? fcktheworld587 1 707 Dec-26-2019, 08:29 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Python installation to folder. No admin rights Toug19 3 1,120 Sep-19-2019, 11:40 AM
Last Post: DeaD_EyE
  Smartsheet api data using python into folder dspy9 0 960 Apr-04-2019, 07:30 PM
Last Post: dspy9

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020