Python Forum
Populate Dropdown list from Database
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Populate Dropdown list from Database
I'm just starting out with Python, which I think is amazing, but I've not really grasped it yet. So I'm probably doing it completely wrong but here goes. I'm starting with just populating the dropdown.

I have an HTML form add_investor.html. This has the form that posts to the database. At the top of this page, I want to add a dropdown to be able to select the previously added investors.

The only way I can get this work is if I create a new URL and separate function view outside of the class addInvestor and render the view in a new HTML page get_investor.

And I understand that the view is linked to the URL, so what I tried to do is add the function to the class addInvestor and just use the existing URL to render the button within the existing page, but when I click the button I just get an empty dropdown.
addInvestor class - with the getInvestor function:

class addInvestorView(View):
    template_name = 'pages/add_investor.html'

def get(self, request, *args, **kwargs):
        return render(request, self.template_name)

def post(self, request, *args, **kwargs):
        form = addInvestorForm(request.POST)
        if form.is_valid():
            form.save()
            data = {"success": "successfully added"}
        else:
            data = {"error": form.errors}
        return JsonResponse(data, safe=False)

def getInvestor(self, request, *args, **kwargs):
        results=Investor.objects.all()
        return render(request, self.template_name,{"Investor":results})

class Meta:
            db_table="apps_investor"

Standalone function which works. (Once I've updated the urls)
def getInvestor(request):
    results=Investor.objects.all()
    return render(request,"pages/get_investor.html",{"Investor":results})

class Meta:
        db_table="apps_investor"