Posts: 1,298
Threads: 38
Joined: Sep 2016
Oct-08-2016, 01:37 PM
(This post was last modified: Oct-08-2016, 01:42 PM by sparkz_alot.)
(Oct-08-2016, 12:13 PM)wavic Wrote: Why don't you run mkdir --help or mkdir -h and see which is the proper command
In windows cmd, it would be "help mkdir" or "help md" or "mkdir /?" otherwise you create the directories "--help" or "-h"
Quote:I tried entering in PowerShell, not cmd. It doesn't ignore just the '-p', but rather the whole command returns an error message. I've just tried in in cmd.exe and both "mkdir x/y/z" and "mkdir -p x/y/z" return syntax errors.
It would be helpful to see the actual error message. It could be that PowerShell is running in "restricted mode" and you might need to set it to "unrestricted". You can check this by typing this in PS
get-executionpolicy if it shows "restricted" you get set it to "unrestricted" by typing this in PS
set-executionpolicy unrestricted make sure to reset it to the original level when your done testing.
Quote:So am I correct to understand that the maker of the tutorial made a mistake in including the -p in the windows part of the tutorial and saying you can't delete non-empty files?
not entirely
In windows cmd, you can use "rmdir /s" to remove an entire directory tree.
In PS, you would just use "rmdir" and you will be prompted.
As for the cmd.exe terminal, again it would be helpful to see the actual error message. It's possible the "Command Extensions" are disabled, but that is unlikely since they are enabled by default...but still a possiblity
Sorry forgot to add
Quote:I've just tried in in cmd.exe and both "mkdir x/y/z" and "mkdir -p x/y/z" return syntax errors.
in windows, the 'slashes' are in the opposite direction, so it would be
[code]
mkdir x\y\z
[\code]
In a python script, the form "x/y/z" would work
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
Posts: 2,953
Threads: 48
Joined: Sep 2016
(Oct-08-2016, 01:37 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: In windows cmd, it would be "help mkdir" or "help md" or "mkdir /?" otherwise you create the directories "--help" or "-h" This is crazy! :D
I can't be in help anymore. I forget everything. I am sorry for my answer.
Posts: 1,298
Threads: 38
Joined: Sep 2016
(Oct-08-2016, 02:16 PM)wavic Wrote: (Oct-08-2016, 01:37 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: In windows cmd, it would be "help mkdir" or "help md" or "mkdir /?" otherwise you create the directories "--help" or "-h" This is crazy! :D
I can't be in help anymore. I forget everything. I am sorry for my answer.
Welcome to my world :D
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
Posts: 2,953
Threads: 48
Joined: Sep 2016
Last time when I used cmd was 10 years ago. Shame on me
Posts: 18
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2016
(Oct-08-2016, 01:37 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: (Oct-08-2016, 12:13 PM)wavic Wrote: Why don't you run mkdir --help or mkdir -h and see which is the proper command
In windows cmd, it would be "help mkdir" or "help md" or "mkdir /?" otherwise you create the directories "--help" or "-h"
Quote:I tried entering in PowerShell, not cmd. It doesn't ignore just the '-p', but rather the whole command returns an error message. I've just tried in in cmd.exe and both "mkdir x/y/z" and "mkdir -p x/y/z" return syntax errors.
It would be helpful to see the actual error message. It could be that PowerShell is running in "restricted mode" and you might need to set it to "unrestricted". You can check this by typing this in PS
get-executionpolicy if it shows "restricted" you get set it to "unrestricted" by typing this in PS
set-executionpolicy unrestricted make sure to reset it to the original level when your done testing.
Quote:So am I correct to understand that the maker of the tutorial made a mistake in including the -p in the windows part of the tutorial and saying you can't delete non-empty files?
not entirely
In windows cmd, you can use "rmdir /s" to remove an entire directory tree.
In PS, you would just use "rmdir" and you will be prompted.
As for the cmd.exe terminal, again it would be helpful to see the actual error message. It's possible the "Command Extensions" are disabled, but that is unlikely since they are enabled by default...but still a possiblity
Sorry forgot to add
Quote:I've just tried in in cmd.exe and both "mkdir x/y/z" and "mkdir -p x/y/z" return syntax errors.
in windows, the 'slashes' are in the opposite direction, so it would be
[code]
mkdir x\y\z
[\code]
In a python script, the form "x/y/z" would work
Hey, thanks for your replies.
The error message is in German, but it's something like "The parameter can not be processed, because the parameter name "p" is not unambiguous. Possible matches:-Path -PipelineVariable -LiteralPath.
help mkdir and help rmdir don't show the argument -p, but they do show -path. Typing this seems to be superfluous though.
PS was running in restricted mode, but setting it to unrestricted doesn't seem to have changed anything, so I guess I'll change it back. How do I check if Command Extensions are on?
Also, in both cmd.exe and PS, / is automatically converted to \. Is there any reason to stick to only typing /?
Posts: 7,320
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Oct-09-2016, 07:10 PM
(This post was last modified: Oct-09-2016, 07:15 PM by snippsat.)
Yep more about learning basic command line stuff,
and Powershell(not fan of it) only comes up because "Learn Python the Hard Way" use it.
There is many thing i don't like about LPTHW,but not gone take it here.
As mention use cmder,then you have a shell which is closer to shell on Linux.
cmder fit Python and tools needed much better.
You can use many Linux commands and git,ssh,cat..ect work out of the box.
Posts: 2,953
Threads: 48
Joined: Sep 2016
(Oct-09-2016, 07:10 PM)snippsat Wrote: Yep more about learning basic command line stuff,
and Powershell(not fan of it) only comes up because "Learn Python the Hard Way" use it.
There is many thing i don't like about LPTHW,but not gone take it here.
As i mention use cmder,then you have a shell which is closer to shell on Linux.
cmder fit Python and tools needed much better.
You can use many Linux commands and git,ssh,cat..ect work out of the box.
There is a better way. Sygwin.
Posts: 7,320
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Oct-09-2016, 07:48 PM
(This post was last modified: Oct-09-2016, 07:56 PM by snippsat.)
(Oct-09-2016, 07:18 PM)wavic Wrote: There is a better way. Sygwin. Yes it's okay,but as fast replacement for cmd i think cmder(is Portable) is a better choice.
The shell of cmder look better to.
Posts: 2,953
Threads: 48
Joined: Sep 2016
You're right. Sygwin is a big package.
Posts: 5,151
Threads: 396
Joined: Sep 2016
Oct-09-2016, 08:37 PM
(This post was last modified: Oct-09-2016, 08:41 PM by metulburr.)
I use Cygwin on the rare occasions i am on windows. Its big because you can choose to select a ton of programs with it. Which usually i want. I usually put cygwin's bin directory in my system path to just execute directly from their command prompt. Powershell seems like a limited version when coming from linux.
Recommended Tutorials:
|