Python Forum
pip install requests doesnt work
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
pip install requests doesnt work
Hello guys,
I am total newbie in python and I want to try it.

So first I run Terminal (or at least I think this is terminal) > python.exe
Then I use pip install requests and that's it :D I've receive this error>

File "<stdin>", line 1
pip install requests
^^^^^^^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

and the question is why? Where is the catch?
pip is run from the command line, not the Python interpreter. It is a program that installs modules, so you can use them from Python. So you have to run the command line. If you are using windows open the menu and type CMD, on mac click the Launchpad icon in the Dock - type Terminal in the search field, then click Terminal , on linux directly pressing [ctrl+alt+T]
VadimCr - thanks for help!

but when I run cmd and write in there pip install requests it comes like this "'pip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file."

and of course, I forgot to write I am using windows :)
Check this link on how to install pip.
misodca likes this post
I welcome all feedback.
The only dumb question, is one that doesn't get asked.
My Github
How to post code using bbtags

Seems like you haven't installed Python the right way, and you haven't defined the path for your pip! There are a couple of methods to fix this issue, all of them are described here https://www.stechies.com/pip-not-recogni...l-command/
You can reinstall Python but do not forget to click Add Python 3.9 to the PATH
misodca likes this post

Attached Files

Thumbnail(s)

yes VadimCr! That was it! Thank you! :)

(I have to say because of your post - about cmd - I've tried install python on second PC where exactly I check that button .. and voala :D anyway, thank you veru much! now I can study again)
VadimCr likes this post
Also our own tutorial https://python-forum.io/thread-3258.html
misodca likes this post