Python Forum
Passing writable arguments to functions.
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Passing writable arguments to functions.
Sorry for beating so fundamental a question into the ground, but as a FORTRAN programmer, I feel pain with python functions.

Consider the function and function call:

def func (k)
  k = 3
  return

j = 0
func(j)
Upon return from "func", j is 0. Ouch.
Is there any way to persuade python to write to function arguments?
Gribouillis write Jan-12-2024, 09:29 PM:
Please post all code, output and errors (it it's entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
(Jan-12-2024, 09:19 PM)Assembler Wrote: Is there any way to persuade python to write to function arguments?
No, there is no way to do that. There is no « reference to a variable » in Python. Use
>>> def func(k):
...     return 3
>>> j = 0
>>> j = func(j)
>>> j
It is only a matter of habit. Python code typically solves this problem by writing inside structured objects that are passed to the function. For example
>>> class Spam:
...     def __init__(self):
...         self.j = 0
>>> def func(s):
...     s.j = 3
>>> x = Spam()
>>> func(x)
>>> x.j
« We can solve any problem by introducing an extra level of indirection »
Thanks!
My searches turned up all sorts of geekery discussing various parameter schemes, but I did not see "No, there is no way to do that." Or if I did, I didn't believe it.
And thanks for the pointer to BBCode. That got by me.
(Jan-12-2024, 10:50 PM)Assembler Wrote: Thanks!
My searches turned up all sorts of geekery discussing various parameter schemes, but I did not see "No, there is no way to do that." Or if I did, I didn't believe it.
And thanks for the pointer to BBCode. That got by me.