Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
Quote:I don't understand it either. It may be a Windows-specific issue but I never use the Windows OS.
It is not very satisfactory but you could add the following lines in your sitecustomize or your usercustomize module to force the inclusion of the main script's directory in sys.path
from pathlib import Path
import sys
if sys.argv:
sys.path.insert(0, str(Path(sys.argv[0]).resolve().parent))
Most likely I will just move everything to a Linux OS instead, seems like setting these sort of things up on Windows is unnecessarily broken and complicated.
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
Jul-26-2024, 11:44 PM
(This post was last modified: Jul-26-2024, 11:44 PM by sunflowerdog.)
(Jul-26-2024, 07:21 PM)snippsat Wrote: If just understand how stuff work with sys.path then this will never be a problem again.
To take a little about this 3 ways.
1.
Environment Variables Path can add folders here permanently to path,
see example under both version find same folders(use PYTHONPATH or just add folders to Path).
G:\div_code
λ py -3.11
Python 3.11.3 (tags/v3.11.3:f3909b8, Apr 4 2023, 23:49:59) [MSC v.1934 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import sys
>>> sys.path
['', 'G:\\Projects', 'G:\\div_code', 'C:\\Python311\\python311.zip', .....]
>>> exit()
G:\div_code
λ py
Python 3.12.2 (tags/v3.12.2:6abddd9, Feb 6 2024, 21:26:36) [MSC v.1937 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import sys
>>> sys.path
['', 'G:\\Projects', 'G:\\div_code', 'C:\\Python312\\python312.zip', .....]
>>> exit()
# Can list python version installed,for me is a long list her some
G:\div_code
λ py --list
-V:3.12 Python 3.12 (64-bit)
-V:3.11 Python 3.11 (64-bit)
-V:3.9 Python 3.9 (64-bit)
-V:3.8 Python 3.8 (64-bit)
....
-V:ContinuumAnalytics/Anaconda37-64 Anaconda 4.7.12
-V:ContinuumAnalytics/Anaconda36-32 Anaconda 4.3.14 2.
Look at this post where use site module to add permanently to path.
3.
Virtual environment.
G:\div_code
λ python -m venv project_env
G:\div_code
λ cd project_env\
G:\div_code\project_env
λ G:\div_code\project_env\Scripts\activate.bat
G:\div_code\project_env
(project_env) λ Now i can just copy folder/files from Project used before,then no path problems as Virtual environment add folder to sys.path automatic,.
G:\div_code\project_env
(project_env) λ python
Python 3.12.2 (tags/v3.12.2:6abddd9, Feb 6 2024, 21:26:36) [MSC v.1937 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> from project_env import bar, main
>>>
>>> bar.answer_to_life()
42
>>> main.main_func()
'Now in main func'
The issue with all of these approaches is that they require extra setup. Which is not the end of the world, but it's unnecessarily complex & kind of defeats some of the purpose of using a simple language like Python. I would much rather just use an installation of Python that works as intended. Ultimately, like I said previously, I'm probably just going to avoid using Windows and hope 3.12 on Linux does not have these issues.
Posts: 4,780
Threads: 76
Joined: Jan 2018
Jul-27-2024, 07:44 AM
(This post was last modified: Jul-27-2024, 07:44 AM by Gribouillis.)
(Jul-26-2024, 11:44 PM)sunflowerdog Wrote: I'm probably just going to avoid using Windows and hope 3.12 on Linux does not have these issues. I just tried in Linux with a Python 3.12.4 installed with pyenv and I don't have this problem.
By the way, the documentation taught me there is a pyenv-win program to get pyenv functionality in Windows OS. You could perhaps try with a version of Python 3.12 installed by pyenv-win to see if it has the same problem as your install of Python 3.12.
« We can solve any problem by introducing an extra level of indirection »
Posts: 7,311
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Jul-27-2024, 10:00 AM
(This post was last modified: Jul-27-2024, 10:00 AM by snippsat.)
This problem of not understanding how sys.path work can arise on all OS Windows,Linux,Mac.
This problem has been asked here or other places many times for all OS.
From Python Doc The initialization of the sys.path module search path
If want to add some folders permanently it only takes a minute,using PYTHONPATH.
Other ways eg poetry it will make a package automatic with pyproject.toml and test folder.
This way will be easier if eg one day want to add package to PyPi,then just poetry publish .
Can just ad poetry later if have make a package and it's more serious project like want it on PyPi.
G:\
λ poetry new my_package
Created package my_package in my_package
G:\
λ cd my_package\
G:\my_package
λ ls
my_package/ pyproject.toml README.md tests/
G:\my_package\my_package
λ ls
__init__.py __pycache__/ foo/ main.py Use it two way.
G:\my_package
λ poetry run python
Python 3.12.2 (tags/v3.12.2:6abddd9, Feb 6 2024, 21:26:36) [MSC v.1937 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> from my_package import bar, main
>>>
>>> bar.answer_to_life()
42
>>> main.main_func()
'Now in main func'
>>> exit() Or poetry will create a virtual environment automatic with poetry shell .
G:\my_package
λ poetry shell
Creating virtualenv my-package-Jw3aWtBz-py3.12 in C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Local\pypoetry\Cache\virtualenvs
Spawning shell within C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Local\pypoetry\Cache\virtualenvs\my-package-Jw3aWtBz-py3.12
(my-package-py3.12) G:\my_package>python
Python 3.12.2 (tags/v3.12.2:6abddd9, Feb 6 2024, 21:26:36) [MSC v.1937 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> from my_package import bar, main
>>>
>>> bar.answer_to_life()
42
>>> main.main_func()
'Now in main func'
>>> exit()
Posts: 4,780
Threads: 76
Joined: Jan 2018
(Jul-27-2024, 10:00 AM)snippsat Wrote: This problem has been asked here or other places many times for all OS.
From Python Doc The initialization of the sys.path module search path The documentation says
Quote:The first entry in the module search path is the directory that contains the input script, if there is one.
That is @ sunflowerdog 's issue. This entry is not present in his module search path in Python 3.12. This is an abnormal situation. It cannot be corrected by adding permanently a folder in sys.path.
« We can solve any problem by introducing an extra level of indirection »
Posts: 7,311
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Jul-27-2024, 11:52 AM
(This post was last modified: Jul-27-2024, 11:52 AM by snippsat.)
(Jul-27-2024, 10:16 AM)Gribouillis Wrote: That is @sunflowerdog 's issue. This entry is not present in his module search path in Python 3.12. This is an abnormal situation. It cannot be corrected by adding permanently a folder in sys.path. Maybe,but i would like sunflowerdog to make folder eg C:\code_1 with one file:
# hello.py
import sys
print('Test run a Python file')
print(sys.path)
print('-' * 25)
print(sys.executable) Then from cmd do this here from start no edit.
Output: Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19045.4651]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. Med enerett.
C:\Users\Tom>cd C:\code_1
C:\code_1>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is EED7-45CC
Directory of C:\code_1
27.07.2024 13:41 <DIR> .
27.07.2024 13:41 <DIR> ..
27.07.2024 13:41 102 hello.py
1 File(s) 102 bytes
2 Dir(s) 18 497 622 016 bytes free
C:\code_1>python hello.py
Test run a Python file
['C:\\code_1', 'G:\\Projects', 'G:\\div_code', 'C:\\code_1', 'C:\\python312\\python312.zip', 'C:\\python312\\DLLs', 'C:\\python312\\Lib', 'C:\\python312', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\win32', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\win32\\lib', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\Pythonwin']
-------------------------
C:\python312\python.exe
C:\code_1>
So the problem now for sunflowerdog should be that it don't find C:\\code_1 folder as it dos for me here?
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
(Jul-27-2024, 11:52 AM)snippsat Wrote: (Jul-27-2024, 10:16 AM)Gribouillis Wrote: That is @sunflowerdog 's issue. This entry is not present in his module search path in Python 3.12. This is an abnormal situation. It cannot be corrected by adding permanently a folder in sys.path. Maybe,but i would like sunflowerdog to make folder eg C:\code_1 with one file:
# hello.py
import sys
print('Test run a Python file')
print(sys.path)
print('-' * 25)
print(sys.executable) Then from cmd do this here from start no edit.
Output: Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19045.4651]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. Med enerett.
C:\Users\Tom>cd C:\code_1
C:\code_1>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is EED7-45CC
Directory of C:\code_1
27.07.2024 13:41 <DIR> .
27.07.2024 13:41 <DIR> ..
27.07.2024 13:41 102 hello.py
1 File(s) 102 bytes
2 Dir(s) 18 497 622 016 bytes free
C:\code_1>python hello.py
Test run a Python file
['C:\\code_1', 'G:\\Projects', 'G:\\div_code', 'C:\\code_1', 'C:\\python312\\python312.zip', 'C:\\python312\\DLLs', 'C:\\python312\\Lib', 'C:\\python312', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\win32', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\win32\\lib', 'C:\\python312\\Lib\\site-packages\\Pythonwin']
-------------------------
C:\python312\python.exe
C:\code_1>
So the problem now for sunflowerdog should be that it don't find C:\\code_1 folder as it dos for me here?
Output: Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19044.4651]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\code_1>dir
Volume in drive C has no label.
Directory of C:\code_1
07/28/2024 06:42 AM <DIR> .
07/28/2024 06:42 AM <DIR> ..
07/28/2024 06:43 AM 115 hello.py
1 File(s) 115 bytes
2 Dir(s) 378,220,912,640 bytes free
C:\code_1>python hello.py
Test run a Python file
['C:\\Users\\user\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Python\\Python312\\python312.zip', 'C:\\Users\\user\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Python\\Python312', 'C:\\Users\\user\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Python\\Python312\\Lib', 'C:\\Users\\usser\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Python\\Python312\\Lib\\site-packages']
-------------------------
C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python312\python.exe
C:\code_1>
Yes, that is correct.
Gribouillis likes this post
Posts: 4,780
Threads: 76
Joined: Jan 2018
By any chance do you have Python-related environment variables set? Print them with
>>> import os
>>> print({k: v for k, v in os.environ.items() if 'PY' in k})
« We can solve any problem by introducing an extra level of indirection »
Posts: 7,311
Threads: 123
Joined: Sep 2016
Jul-28-2024, 05:37 PM
(This post was last modified: Jul-28-2024, 05:37 PM by snippsat.)
Do this see if it load frozen_importlib_external.PathFindet loads.
>>> import sys
>>> sys.meta_path
[<_distutils_hack.DistutilsMetaFinder object at 0x0000022BD615F800>,
<class '_frozen_importlib.BuiltinImporter'>,
<class '_frozen_importlib.FrozenImporter'>,
<class '_frozen_importlib_external.PathFinder'>] Make a virtual environment as shown before in post under 3.
This to see if it same error is here,virtual environment is like new light Python version.
Then when environment is active.
G:\div_code\project_env
(project_env) λ python
Python 3.12.2 (tags/v3.12.2:6abddd9, Feb 6 2024, 21:26:36) [MSC v.1937 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import sys
>>>
>>> sys.path
['', 'G:\\Projects', 'G:\\div_code', 'G:\\div_code\\project_env', 'C:\\python312\\python312.zip', 'C:\\python312\\DLLs', 'C:\\python312\\Lib', 'C:\\python312', 'G:\\div_code\\project_env\\Lib\\site-packages']
Posts: 12
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2024
Jul-29-2024, 03:46 PM
(This post was last modified: Jul-29-2024, 03:58 PM by sunflowerdog.)
(Jul-28-2024, 02:40 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: By any chance do you have Python-related environment variables set? Print them with
>>> import os
>>> print({k: v for k, v in os.environ.items() if 'PY' in k})
Output: C:\>python
Python 3.12.4 (tags/v3.12.4:8e8a4ba, Jun 6 2024, 19:30:16) [MSC v.1940 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
>>> import os
>>> print({k: v for k, v in os.environ.items() if 'PY' in k})
{}
I guess not. When I first installed Python I did manually add Python's default script folders into my PATH because it wasn't recognizing pip at first, though I think that's moreso another symptom of the issue than the cause of it.
|